Cho Dam Market


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Khanh Hoa » Nha Trang
February 16th 2009
Published: February 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Cho Dam is the open air market in Nha Tran, unlike the street vendor market that I experienced in HCMC, this market has actual vendor stalls selling everything from fake designer products to the day’s catch from the ocean and fresh produce. We took a bus from our hotel and traveled to the inner city of Nha Tran in order to reach the market. There were a few Du Lich (tourist in Vietnamese), this market is used mainly by the local people. They separate the meat stalls from the fish stalls, produce is spread throughout the market.

The art of bargaining…although I myself did not bargain for anything it was kind of funny to watch my mother wheel and deal for the things that she wanted. It was starts off with asking the price, then stating emphatically how over priced it is, then chiding then chiding them about their price and then asking for something lower by stating the price you are willing to pay for it. This is with everything that you want to buy regardless of what the items are. I would not be a good bargainer since what they are asking for seems extremely cheap to me as it is. Sometimes she wins and sometimes she looses. Me, I just called my mother over and asked her to work it out...boy am I in trouble when I get to Bangkok where bargaining is expected!

When Larry and I travel we try to find something interesting to put in our travel cabinet for prosperity. I have been trying to find things here in Asia that I would like to display or use, sadly there hasn’t been much that I am interested in purchasing. The quality of goods here isn’t really that great but I have been able to find a few things that aren’t too cheesy.

One of the things that I have found and completely fell in love with in Nha Trang is their hand embroidery, it’s absolutely gorgeous! Designs are hand sewn into very fine silks and mounted on an oriental frame where you can see both sides of the artwork. The cost of the artwork runs into 5 figures and you would also need to add the cost of shipping the artwork home. I am so in love with this that I may have to find something small that I can carry home.

The best thing about Nha Trang:
1. The ocean air
2. The wonderful seafood
3. The scenery

Although I’ve seen a very small part of Vietnam I would say that anyone wanting to visit this country should really get out of HCMC and tour the other areas. Vietnam is a very hot place so be sure to travel during the months of January to March…otherwise you’ll just die if you are not use to the heat.

Travel tip to Vietnam:
• Bring wet wipes with you everywhere you go
o For some very odd reason napkins is very rarely used here, if there is then it’s actually toilet paper. You will get very dirty here and when you go to a restaurant you will be offered wet wipes but they are not free, there is a nominal charge for the wet wipes.
• Bring Kleenex with you
o It can be used for many things, especially toilet paper
• Bring mosquito repellent (tons of the buggers in Nha Tran)

Once I’ve completed my travels in Vietnam I will do an overview of my personal thoughts about this country and its citizens.

Don’t know when I’ll get to log back in again. I’m off to the mud spa again….tomorrow we travel by plane back to HCMC where my parents will begin shopping for things that want to bring home. We leave HCMC Saturday evening. I to Bangkok, Thailand and Narita, Japan, my parents to Hawaii. Can't wait to get to my hotel on Waikiki beach!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb