Going local down in Nha Trang!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Khanh Hoa » Nha Trang
December 18th 2005
Published: December 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

"Sometimes you wanna go where everybody knows your naaame (dun dun dun dun) and they're always glad you came (back)."

Oh yes I am STILL in Nha Trang. The weather in Northern Vietnam is awful at the moment, constant rain and reports of typhoons in Hoi An. For the last 3 days I have been trying to get the bus out of here but the rain has flooded the roads in the countryside and I am stuck. Could be really bad but I am lucky and have met some great people and am having a great time! Our days are spent in Blues Bar watching DVD's and nights are spent drinking in the Why not? bar. For the last 3 nights everyone has come out as (apparently) it's my last night. Last night I finally found out the bus was going, so after ANOTHER farewell session I boarded the bus to Hoi An and settled down for the 12 hour journey. I had heard a bus on the way down got stuck for 10 hours so I was prepared for an epic journey. The bus was packed as so many people have been trying to get out. Anyway I fell asleep and awoke 2 hours later with a police man on the bus and a bit of a commotion going on. Eventually someone stood up and explained to us that the police had closed the road and we were being sent back to Nha Trang. I got back, checked into same hotel, same room, went out and walked back into the bar. It was hilarious! Everybody cracked up and started applauding me. I was laughing so much my stomach hurt, I had been stressed on bus wondering how I would ever make it to Hanoi to catch my flight, but seeing everyones face just made me relax. It's one of my best travel moments so far.
So anyway I have given up fighting it and will just stay here as long as possible before flying to Hanoi, which is pretty expensive but I have little choice, I am pretty disappointed I wont see Hoi An and Hue but I'll be back, I love Vietnam. I am lucky there is an airport here, I could be stuck further north and have no option but to stick it out. I am also lucky that I love Nha Trang, beginning to feel like
Nha Trang GangNha Trang GangNha Trang Gang

Blake, Tom, Me, James, Mel, Ant
a local - know the good restaraunts and bars and meet tons of people I know everytime I step out my hotel. I can see why people stay here so long. At the moment the beach is a mess, full of washed up debry including a dead pig (hence no pictures) but when it's not raining you can see the many many islands in the distance, it's really beautiful and I can't help humming the jurrasic park theme tune everytime I'm looking at the mist over the mountains on the islands...... (I am a strange girl) but when it clears up I will take some photos and add them to these blogs. Hopefully one day I will get out on a boat trip to see the islands (and dinasours!) up close.

(by the way hotmail has been down here for over a week so if anyone has emailed me I haven't received it, I am not ignoring you!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



23rd December 2005

From Eilidh's Mum
Hi, Laura, its Eilidh's Mum. I've just got your travel log from Eilidh, and I'm soo impressed. Does your trip include Canada? And if not why not! I'd love to meet you. really I'm just jealous 'cos I never did anything so exciting when I was young enough to do it. I'm really looking forward to the next installments! God Bless, Ann
29th December 2005

Come in Nha Trang
Scotland calling Laura, come in Laura! Merry Xmas babes hope your well. From the photos i can see your in good hands!! We've been following your progress and love your hilarious reports. I thought i was the only bad penny that kept turning up, seems we're a pair! lol. We hope you eventually commence the next stage of your journey safely and look forward to the next instalment. Take care and catch up soon. xx
4th January 2006

hey babe happy new year hasn't been the same here without you, nights out aren't as fun and the singing isn't as good without your wonderfully tuned voice added to the mix. Glad your still having a good time hope your looking after yourself and haven't lost too many things yet (kidding) all together now i'll make love to you........ miss you heaps love sarahx

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb