Goodmorning Vietnam (oh I'm such an orginal comedian!!)


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Khanh Hoa » Nha Trang
July 25th 2008
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello to anyone and everyone who may be reading this! You can probably tell we are now in Vietnam and so far I think I have to say this is my favourite place of the trip (only been here a week though!).

Anyway, we left Cambodia after 4 days of doing nothing on the beach other than getting sunburnt (again for me - I'm being such an idiot on this trip!) and eating lots of BBQ sea food. We chickened out of the 'less travelled' border into Vietnam and instead went back up to Phnom Penh and crossed into Ho Chi Minh City / Saigon like everyone else (adventurous backpackers that we are!).

I think my first words in Saigon were 'This place is worse than London!'. That was because it took us about 2 hours to get from one side of Saigon to the other in the bus because of all of the traffic. I have never seen so many mopeds in my life!

Because of this instant dislike we decided to leave pretty much straight away and went to the Mekong Deta for a two day trip down the river. That was really nice and relaxing (although involved a lot of sitting on the boat. We were promised a bike ride but we were only given 10 minutes to go out on the bike so didn't seem worth it). We saw lots of floating markets, ate lots of fresh fruit (including pinapples that they cut up so it looks like a loolypop) and saw lots of rice things (like how they make rice noddles, poprice - like popcorn but rice and general rice!). All in all it was really good.

We then had to go back to Saigon, which wasn't so bad this time as I knew what to expect! We then spent the day at the Cu Chi Tunnels and War Remnants Museum. Both were really good (especially the tunnels as it is amazing how small the Viet Cong soldiers must have been and how clever their traps were), although I think I am more confused about the Vietnam war then I was about the Cambodia one! Mainly because the War museum only really had photos about what the 'nasty' Americans did to the Vietnam people, rather then explaining what was going on! I've had a bit too much war stuff now too so can't say I'm really taking it in anymore (although am still trying!).

We were then able to leave Saigon and went on the most horrific bus journey to Dalat. It was supposed to take 6-7 hours but in actual fact took 10 as it seemed the bus driver didn't want to go faster than 30 km/hr. We also stopped and picked up loads of local people so there were loads of people standing everywhere and then they all started smoking! Clearly couldn't tell them to stop as they wouldn't understand us and also there wasn't any signs saying you couldn't smoke.

Dalat was really nice and I think it was worth the nasty bus journey! We saw some lovely waterfalls and as it is high in the mauntains it meant it was nice and cool. We then decided to adopt our 'Easyrider' (who took us around for the day on his motorbike) to take us to Nha Trang. This meant that we have spent the past 3 days on the back of a bike riding around the central highlands of Vietnam. It has been so much fun! We have seen so much lovely scenery, ate with the locals and leant a bit more about Vietnam culture and of course the war! I must say though 3 days on the back of a bike is more than enough as my body is aching quite a lot!

We are now waiting for our overnight bus to take us to Hoi An. Am looking forward to it as the lonely planet book makes it look really nice!

Hope everyone is well at home x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb