Monsoon


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Khanh Hoa » Nha Trang
November 11th 2007
Published: November 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 34 - Saturday 3 November

Arrived in Nha Trang just after 7:30 am. Nha Trang is a beach resort thats great for snorkling, diving, booze cruises and sunbathing. Unfortunately were in the middle of a monsoon and its raining like you wouldn't believe.

As I was still a little tired I decided to go back to bed until lunchtime in the hope that it might stop raining. Woke up at lunchtime and it was still raining heavily. Russ decided to brave the weather I decided to give it a bit longer. Although everynight is like a saturday night when backpacking, as its a real saturday and I fancy a few drinks tonight around 3pm I finally caved in, donned full waterproof gear and braved the storm to find out where the good bars where.

Quickly found the beach which unsurprisingly was deserted but I can imagine is pretty busy on a sunny day. As there wasn't much else to do, I headed to the nearest bar for a drink. Once in I noticed a big group of Canadians that were on our bus last night. They beckoned me over so I joined them for a few drinks. Like me they had come to the conclusion that the only thing to do on a day like today was sit it out in a bar.

After agreeing to meet up again later I joined Russ in an Irish bar to watch the Arsenal v Man Utd game. After the game ended teamed up again with the Canadians for yet more drinks and buckets of vodka. Around midnight we headed to the sailing club which is one of the local nightclubs in town. It cost 40 000 Dong (1.25) to get in and that included a free bottle of beer. Unbelievably the Canadians thought it was too expensive and refused to pay. The place was packed and playing western music so me and Russ said our goodbyes and headed in.

It got rather messy after that.

Day 35 - Sunday 4 November

Woke up still feeling tired so looked at my watch to see what time it was. Unbelievably it was five past three, I'd slept most of the day and there was only a couple of hours of daylight left.

Speaking to Russ he'd been robbed again on his way home. Thats twice in a week this time by two girls.

It was still raining outside (Nha Trang rains more than Manchester) but as I didn't fancy a beer, spent the rest of the day watching football on the tv.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb