Stage 6


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Da Nang
December 4th 2007
Published: December 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Marble MountainsMarble MountainsMarble Mountains

View from the top.
Got the night train down from Hanoi, it was alot better than the one in Thailand, we had cabins this time. We were split up a bit, I was in a cabin of 4 with a chinese lad from Hong Kong, a chinese lad from Liverpool (what are the odds) and a Viet Namese girl who swapt with several other family members through the night, I was 1 of the lucky ones though a couple of the lads had to share a cabin of 6 with entire Viet Namese families.
We found a class hotel on the beach front which for a room of 3, cost us 4 quid a night each and had satalite tv (including all the footy) tennis courts and breakfast thrown in for good measure. The previous 2 weeks the place had been hit by some pretty bad typhoons so it was deserted, I had my first proper dry night in 3 weeks mainly because we couldn't find any bars open! The next day was brilliant we rented out scooters and went to these marble mountains (it does what it says on the tin) and had look round these statue shops, the detail in the sculptures was
Marble StatuesMarble StatuesMarble Statues

Some of the stuff they were selling, didn't buy any though. If I put any of them in my front room I wouldn't be able to see the telly
amazing and then had a look around the mountains and yes more caves. This one however was used as a hospital during the war, again the injinuity of thes people is unbelievable. In the afternoon went across to China Beach where apparently they held the 1992 World surf board championships. I had to give the surfing a go for an hour and yep I still can't do it, after trying to paddle out for 20 minutes I looked round and realised I was still only 10m from the beach!! Got back to the hotel had a game of tennis (like us upper class travellers do), then watched Liverpool stuff Bolton 4-0 and played the best drinking card game ever, which I'm gonna have to teach you all when I get back and eventually got to bed about 5.

Good work if you can get it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The whole gangThe whole gang
The whole gang

Back:Steve, Brendon, John, Steph, Karen, moi, Roger. Front:Adrian, Kathy, Keira and Aodhagan.


4th December 2007

fantasy football
639 points, how's your team doing?
5th December 2007

Challenge!
Not sure if you are going to Ho Chi Ming City or not on your travels -much nicer than Hanoi! Still masses of bikes though and beeping at all times but you do get used to it....honest! If you do go to Ho Chi Ming City then I can recommend the Bar under the Opera House - they have 9 flavours of Martini's and yes, I did think it was a good idea at the time to have all of them in one night - so beat that Cous, if you think your hard enough!
5th December 2007

Nice!!
Nice blog scouser! Have been dreamin' of chang etc. Looks like you've got a good crew together. Stick with the paddies they, wont let you down!
9th December 2007

Whole gang
I have just looked at the photo of the whole gang and are you the one in the middle. I know you have been drinking a lot but you seem to be a bit grey and slightly overweight. You will be glad to hear that Chris has left the Close but several Vietmanese families have moved in and opened a restaurant. It will feel like you are still on holiday when you get back!
11th December 2007

646 and I started 3 weeks late!!
11th December 2007

Yeah I'm just here now but tryin to take it easy, them buckets of Long Island Ice Tea in Nha Trang have taken it's toll.
11th December 2007

Mate, I'm sick of the sight of em. But they can't be worse than chris?

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb