Fishsauce and Sand dunes all under the same roof!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Binh Thuan » Mui Ne
February 8th 2007
Published: February 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Of the Southeast Asian countries I've visited thus far, Vietnam I'd say has the most Chinese influence. Maybe its the partial exchange of chopsticks for the old spoon and fork, or the fact that this place is going crazy in anticipation of the upcoming Chinese New Year, or "Tet", as its called here. Lucky me in my itinerary planning, prices all seem to go up by 40% this time of year.

Ho Chi Minh City aka Saigon was a MADHOUSE!! Okay, I know what you're going to say "enough with the fu#%ing scooters shauna!", but I can't resist. If the issue before was too many people on one scooter, the issue here is everyone has their own (you can buy a used one for $100US), and they all have horn happy hands as well. It seems that if you toot your horn, all bets are off and you can do whatever you want. I mentioned to a fellow traveller that I feel like I'm in a videogame when I'm trying to cross the street. You just hold your breath and step out onto the pavement with about 20 unofficial scooter lanes, and buses, trucks and cars as well streaming by
Fish sauce in progress...Fish sauce in progress...Fish sauce in progress...

These nasty little guys make the whole town smell like cat food!
you and honking. You walk slowly and carefully so that they can dodge you like a pilon. I think I made it up to at least level 5! Needless to say, not being a city girl, I got out of the city of 6+million people asap.

Which brings me to Mui ne, a village famous for making fishsauce, (super stinky by the way), but also has some amazing sand dunes. I found a motorcycle taxi to give me the grand tour and went to check them out. I've never seen anything like it, very beautiful. There is something so peaceful about being the only one climbing up a powdery white sand dune, looking at your lone tracks behind you, and nothing but more mountains of sand, endless blue sky and the East China Sea in the distance.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



19th February 2007

Sand Dunes?
Somehow, I never pictured sand dunes as part of the Vietnamese landscape, now the baskets of stinky rotting fish, well yes, that I can imagine. the sand dunes look like maybe you took that picture in Dubai, It sounds like the rules of the road there are pretty much as they are in Mexico, while driving identify your intentions, whatever they may be by honking, then do it! Waiting patiently on your next entry. Love Mom XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOOXXOXOXO

Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb