The north west tour of Vietnam (Part 1): from Hanoi to Ban Van


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northwest » Son La
December 3rd 2011
Published: December 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Xin chào everyone,

Last time I was in Hanoi, but I decide after 4 days to do a tour of the north west of the country. But I will go back to Hanoi after the tour, because there are still a lot of thing I haven’t since yet.

I started my tour by Mai Chau, a little town at roughly 3 hours bus from Hanoi. This is a little town with a lot of villages around and that is in one of them that I found my bed for 2 nights. I stay in a little village named Ban Van. This is a village I’ll say about 70 stilt houses surrounded by rice plantations and mountains not far from Mai Chau.

This is a quiet village with nice people… almost. There is a difference between here and Malaysia: some of the people here are really friendly, but some didn’t even want to look at me and didn’t answer to my greetings (made in Vietnamese please!), while in Malaysia, people were all friendly. But histories of the 2 countries are different: Vietnam can be angry against westerners when Malaysia doesn’t really have any motive of hate against the west. Maybe that explain some things, I don’t know. Anyway this was not the majority and most of the people smiled back at me.

All the inhabitants of Ban Van are originated from Thailand, but a lot of them are born here in Vietnam, so this is a mix of the 2 cultures.

I spent 2 days walking and admiring rice plantations and wonderful landscapes, walking in the streets of Mai Chau, Van Ban and some other small villages around, some of them with lovely handicraft shops. That is a shame that I have to stay light and I can’t buy anything because there is some handsome things!

After Ban Van I headed to Son La, but I'll tell you that in the next post.

See you soon!



Xin chào tout le monde,

La dernière fois, j’étais à Hanoi, mais j’ai décidé après 4 jours de faire un tour du nord-est du pays. Mais je reviendrai à Hanoi, car il y a encore des choses que je n’ai pas vues.

J’ai commencé mon tour par Mai Chau, une petite ville à 3 heures de bus d’Hanoi. C’est une petite ville avec plein de villages aux alentours et c’est dans l’un d’eux que j’ai trouvé où dormir pour 2 nuits. Je suis restée dans un petit village appelé Ban Van. C’est un village je dirais d’environ 70 maisons sur pilotis, entouré de rizières et de montagnes pas loin de Mai Chau.

C’est un calme village avec des gens sympathiques… enfin presque. Une des différences entre la Malaisie et ici, est que certains des gens ici sont très amicaux, quand d’autres refusent de me regarder ou de répondre à mes salutations (en vietnamien s’il vous plait !), alors qu’en Malaisie tout le monde était amical. Mais les histoires des 2 pays ne sont pas les mêmes : le Vietnam peut en vouloir à l’occident, la Malaisie moins. Cela explique peut-être certaines choses. Mais bon ce n’était tout de même pas la majorité et la plupart des gens me rendaient mes sourires.

Tous les habitants de Ban Van sont d’origine thaïlandaise, mais beaucoup d’entre eux sont nés ici, ce qui provoque un mixte de culture.

J’ai passé 2 jours à marcher et à admirer de magnifiques paysages de rizières, à marcher dans Mai Chau, Ban Van et d’autres petits villages des alentours, certains avec des très belles échoppes d’handicraft. C’est vraiment dommage que je doive garder un bagage léger et que je puisse rien acheter, parce qu’il y avait vraiment de jolies choses !

Apres Ban Van je me suis dirigee vers Son La, mais cela je le raconterai dans mon prochain article.

A bientot!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



3rd December 2011
11-Rice plantation

Quel espace....cette vue est magnifique. C'est totalement différent de la Malaisie.
3rd December 2011
12-Street of a small village close to Mai Chau

On aimerait bien y être.
3rd December 2011
23-Landscape

Je me demande en quoi sont fait les chapeaux.
3rd December 2011
24-My really good dinner

bon appétit mon cœur.

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb