I didn't realise it is quite serious


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northwest » Lao Cai
August 10th 2008
Published: August 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi,

I am still stuck in Lao Cai and it now appears that we could be stuck here for a week while they fix the train and roads. I didn't realise how serious it was yesterday as it has now been on the news that about 100 local people have died because of the floods. I hope my moaning yesterday didn't seem inappropriate, I just didn't realise. Thought it was just a bit of rain that was an inconvience for me!

Anyway, still bored out of my brain. We did find a market today though so finally have a clean t-shirt which is nice! The little things really do matter at the moment!

Hope everyone is well. E-mail me as I will be on the Internet everyday until I leave as I am bored.

Steph.

Advertisement



12th August 2008

Stuck in Lao Cai
Hi Guys, Wow what a bummer that you are stuck up there, unwillingly. Myself and my family plan to be in Lao Cai/Sapa on 28th Aug (two weeks away) and now I'm not sure what to do. It will probably be fixed by then for sure, but what if another flood damages the train lines again? And kills more people? What would you advice? Can you use the time to go to Bac Ha or somewhere else? Or are you just waiting to get out? This will stuff all my well laid plans if it happens to us. As you said you were bored I thought I would email you so you have someone else to talk to. I am following all travel blogs in Vietnam in preparation for my trip which starts 21 Aug - for 23 days of backpacking north to south. I would hate to miss out on Sapa. Keep me posted if you can. Cheers Debbie

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb