Bac Ha Market


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northwest » Lao Cai » Sapa
September 3rd 2006
Published: September 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

So today I went to the Bac Ha market. It was a three hour bus ride from Sapa (I have little Vietnamese kids staring at me as I write this as they play their games). The trip was out of control... I'm surprised I didn't get carsick... windy roads of gravel. Got to the market. I bought a really cool bracelet for two bucks. They (the flower Hmong minority.. the market only occurs on Sundays) were selling everything... goods, chickens, birds, etc. I wa stempted to buy a puppy but decided not such a good idea.

We trekked for a bot to see a Hmong house... while it was cool I felt bad fopr the villager that his house was on display. However, we saw his one room mud hut where he made corn wine, ground corn and lived with his six family members. I also saw the health clinic of the village. This was the first time I saw a community rural clinic... I wish I could have went inside. The village also had a school. Bus ride back then transfer of hotels to the nicer hotel next to me where I have CNN.... thank gosh.

Tomorrow I am doing a day trek through three villages. I would have liked to leave Sapa a day earlier but the people in Hanoi said they were unable to change my ticket. Sapa is still as beautiful as ever.


Advertisement



9th September 2006

Bac Ha Market - Lao Cai - Vietnam
The Sunday market in Bac Ha is where you'll want to stock up on water buffalo, pigs and horses. Once you're all set, you can browse for bottles of local firewater (made from rice, cassava or corn) or handicrafts made by some of the 10 Montagnard groups living near here - Flower Hmong, Dzao, Giay (Nhang), Han (Hoa), Xa Fang, Lachi, Nung, Phula, Thai and Thulao. Bac Ha is a less crowded alternative to Sapa, and arriving midweek makes for a relaxing visit. Around 700m above sea level, the highlands around Bac Ma are somewhat warmer than Sapa. Bring ear plugs so you needn't endure the 'Voice of Vietnam' echoing from the loudspeakers at market-rousing time For doing great trip to visit the most colourful market in the world , you can boot this trip at : http://www.bachatour.com or at : http://www.kimtours.net

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb