Mo and Chi help unfit me!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northwest » Lao Cai » Sapa
February 5th 2013
Published: February 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We woke to an amazing breakfast of pancakes, honey and banana - such a great way to start the day. Then our 6km trek began and this was very different to yesterday's walk! Thanks to the rain yesterday, and the already uphill route, we were in for both a treat and a challenge! My friends this time were Mo and Chi, Chi was 27 and Mo was 60 and my god these women are unstoppable! The trek was very muddy and slippery in much of the path and when you step in the wrong section of mud, you sink deep (from experience!). They show you where to put your feet, they pull you up high sections, they help you balance along the thin rice paddy ledges and hold your hand most of the way. And they do it all with baskets on their backs, gumboots on and a smile on their face. These women couldn't speak English so well so it was a quieter walk than the day before. It's a pitty I couldn't take in the scenery as much though as it was all about where to put the next foot! I had two falls which was pretty good considering the number of opportunities!

We arrived at a waterfall for a small break before continuing on to lunch. As we 'dropped off' the Hmong women to their village, I again thanked them with some money but didn't buy anything - no room in my small backpack! The last part before lunch was 15 minutes of one straight incline - so tough on the legs and the breathing. It served as a good reminder to get back into exercise when I get home!

After lunch it was finally time to sit on a bus and we were all feeling our hip bones, calves and quad muscles. Nice to know it wasn't just me! I skipped the line for the shower and went straight into Sapa for a head, shoulder, back and leg massage while my muddy legs and heavily blistered feet soaked in a herbal bath. 45 minutes of bliss for only $7.50! She cracked my back and massaged my aching muscles. It was just the way to wind down this part of the trip. I met up with the group for a drink later (Ilearnt that a milkshake is a hot chocolate here!) and saw the market a bit more before showering and making our journey back to Lao Cai train station.

I was looking forward to a great night's sleep, and just knew it wasn't my lucky day when I found I was in a cabin with three burly Spanish blokes. Surely one would snore. I was unfortunately right. 5 minutes after the train took off it started by the guy on the opposite side above me. He was loud and constant. It was an 8 hour journey. I was thinking of all the ways I could stop it. I was wishing I had started Spanish lessons before the trip to learn how to say "Shut the f* up!". I stuck my finger in my ear which lasted til I was too uncomfortable to continue. I was making a mental note of what was in my bag to block the noise, or kill him. I pulled my doona off me and piled it on my ear to muffle the noise. I wanted to cry. I think I did a bit.

When I woke one of the guys asked if I had a good sleep. Polite me in Australia would say yes, it was fine. Tired grumpy me in Vietnam said no and shook my head. They knew. I was thankful for having booked a bed at my hostel for today so I could sleep. When I arrived at 5:30am however, I was told I couldnt check in til after 11. So here I am catching up on writing and getting a shower in and hanging out til 11. I imagine by then I will be over it and want to explore the city!

More to come....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb