SaPa - mountain retreat


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northwest » Lao Cai » Sapa
March 8th 2009
Published: March 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My tour guidesMy tour guidesMy tour guides

These ladies were of the Red Dzao people. They are in their mid twenties and most have two or more kids. Most of the families in this village are related to each other.
Hello all:
I'm on my last three days in Vietnam. My friend Denis helped me arrange an overnight train to SaPa which is in the northeastern highlands. It is the location of the highest peak in Vietnam and the terrain is a little like the Kootney Valley in BC. The area is especially well known for a number of hill tribe people who live in small villages in the area. Many of them travel into the town to sell home made crafts, in particular hand embroidered wares. I spent the morning just wandering around town and in the afternoon booked a motorcycle driver to take me to a neighboring village. I wandered around the village accompanied by 4 women who showed me their homes and told me a bit about their life in the village. Two of them spoke a bit of English and all the English they knew, they had learned from tourists. The tribal group in this particular village are the Red Dzao people who you know by their bright red head dresses. The other group in town are the Black H'mong people. I visited one of their villages which is only a couple of kilometers from town in
Woman stitchingWoman stitchingWoman stitching

Very fine detailed work which would tax my eyesight.
the afternoon. They are recognizable by their black headgear. Tomorrow I have a full daytrip planned to another village outside of the city which will include a lunch. In the evening, I'm back on the night train to return to Hanoi. I will have a full day in Hanoi, as the train arrives about 5:30 a.m. Denis plans to give me the rapid fire tour of the city and then Tuesday I catch my plane to Beijing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Woman's Day flowersWoman's Day flowers
Woman's Day flowers

Today is Women's Day in Vietnam - a day for males to honor the females in their lives by giving gifts and being especially nice. Even I received a flower while warming up with a coffee in a beautiful little coffee shop.
Little cow herder in Cat CatLittle cow herder in Cat Cat
Little cow herder in Cat Cat

Cat Cat is a village about 1 km. from SaPa and home to H'mong people. Lots of kids playing in the area
Little one playing in the waterLittle one playing in the water
Little one playing in the water

Everywhere were children playing with whatever was available.
View of Cat Cat VillageView of Cat Cat Village
View of Cat Cat Village

It was difficult to capture the beauty of the terraced fields in this area as it was very foggy and overcast the whole day. I'm guessing temperatures are about +12 and I have to admit that I've been freezing for the last 4 days. I've lost my Canadian hardiness already!


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb