End of Day 4: Halong Bay excursion


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast » Quang Ninh » Halong Bay
April 6th 2006
Published: April 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm sitting in the Internet lounge of my Hotel Lobby. We paid $10 to stay here tonight. The room looks almost exactly the same as the $50 room we paid the other night. They love ripping off the foreigners here.

Anyhow, Jason and I just got back from Halong Bay today. It was definitely one of the most beautiful sights I have ever seen. We floated around in our boat, surrounded by 1969 different islands. Jason jumped off the story boat and into the bay waters. We met some very cool, and well travelled seamates. It's incredible how many people out there just quit their jobs and travel the world for 6 months at a time. There was the New Yorker girl who quit her finance job to travel around asia for a few months, the two married physicians who just quit their medical positions to travel for the past 10 months, and the two British guys who just finished school and got a working permit to become a shepard in New Zealand. They've been around the world for the past 8 months. Geez, and I thought 3 weeks was too much time on holiday, these guys beat me by a landslide!!

I would put up some photos of Halong Bay, but that would mean having to walk up the 6 flight of stairs to get my USB port so that I can upload my photos. Sorry guys, that's a little too much work for my aching body. Jason and I hiked to the top of the highest peaked island of Halong Bay yesterday so my calves need a little rest. And today we Kayaked for about and hour and swam around the chilly bay, so my arms a little Jello-y. haha, you won't believe this, but since I haven't worked out for awhile, I no longer have any arm muscles. I've had Jason open about 5 of my water bottles on this trip. It's pathetic - but true...

We are flying out of Hanoi tomorrow and into the quaint little sea town of Hoi Ann. We plan on taking cooking lessons and having some tailors make some clothes for us. The new friends we met told us that we'll probably get sucked into their shops and buy a whole suitcase full of new clothes. hmmm.. We don't even have an apartment in SF yet, if the closet is as small as the one in NY, I won't even be able to buy another pair of panties. I'm crossing my fingers and hope we get a walk in closet. 😊

oh yeh, Jason got his ATM card back but they disabled the card. They said he wouldn't be able to activate again, but they would be happy to send him another one. Which doesn't really help since it takes 4 days to get here, and we don't know what city we'll be in at that time. The customer support person he spoke to was an outsourced Indian person, so he wasn't very helpful. He says Jason has to request for another card at that International city's branch, and wait for the card there. I don't even think we're staying more than 3 nights at one place. Citibank sucks!

We got a massage today. I think my masseuse was a lesbo. she kept whispering things to me. I don't know why she couldn't just ask in a normal tone, but she would ask, "are you okay, and i'll be back in 10 minutes, ok? maybe i'm just imagining things. then she kept massaging my ass, and jason said he didn't get that from his masseuse. who knows...

alrighty, it's getting late. i'll add photos soon!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb