Halong Bay


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast » Quang Ninh » Halong Bay
June 11th 2010
Published: June 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The Jewel of Vietnam - Halong Bay. After doing some research, I decided to cruise through Halong Bay to Cat Bay Island, instead of spending a night or two on the boat in the bay. I got a bus ticket to the pier in Halong City in one of the tourist buses. They pack those like sardines, but the ride was about 2 hours, so it wasn't terrible. I spent the whole time chatting with a guy from Seattle, who is of Jordanian ancestry and went to college in Jordan. Upon getting to the pier, they found me a boat and of course grossly overcharged me for it. But I was determined not to let anything ruin my Halong Bay experience.
We cruised through Halong Bay for about 5 hours, stopping on one of the islands to visit 2 caves. The caves were OK, but Halong Bay itself was simply majestic. Fantastic limestone cliffs jetting out of the water. Simply amazing.
There was a Vietnamese family on the boat with us with a bunch of kids. The kids in Vietnam are simply adorable. They didn't speak any English, but we played with them nonetheless. They loved posing for pictures as well. Every time I would get up from my seat, they occupy it 😊 It was really cute. Then as I returned, they would all run away screaming 😊 The parents over here seam to let the kids do what ever they want. But if they misbehave, a quick smack gets them back in line 😊 Seams to be very effective.
Anyways, really enjoyed Halong Bay. It's one of the most beautiful places on Earth and the pictures really don't do it justice.


Additional photos below
Photos: 64, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0164s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb