Hue - snakes on a plane, drunk on a train


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » North Central Coast » Thua Thien - Huế » Hué
September 29th 2009
Published: September 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm just going to repeat again in case you didn't spot it in the last blog that we are all fine and have not been on a glass bottomed boat.

It was about a four hour bus ride to Hue and once we arrived we went for lunch. Following this we got in a taxi and a local guide took us for a tour of the Citadel and the Forbidden City. It was very beautiful despite the weather continuing to be drizzly. The tour guide was very informative, we learnt a lot about the monarchy and how it followed along with the French control of Vietnam and then with the Vietnam war. We went to the temple where most of the monarchs remains are along with each of their beds and some personal belongings!

After this Marta and I went for a walk around the town. We found that there wasn't really that much to look at so went back to the hotel and just relaxed and watched a film. We went for dinner at a place called Ushi's. I'm afraid to say that I had pizza again and felt a bit bad about it! I just didn't feel like trawling through the massive menu and everyone else was ordering the same! Afterwards most of us went back to the hotel even though it was early. We were all feeling pretty tired and a few of us were on a bit of a come down I think from the excitement of the last two days of shopping! Marta and I ended up spending the evening watching quite a few episodes of Mr. Bean and another film. It felt really good to just have a break and do absolutely nothing!

The next day we all got up early as we were hoping to do a six hour motorbike trip up into the mountains and around the other local attractions. Unfortunately it was hammering it down so there wasn't a lot we could do apart from go back to bed and watch more tv! After our tv overload it was time for a lunch where we also ordered takeaway for our long train ride to Ha Long Bay. We were on a nice train this time - VIP section pretty much! We ended up playing cards till I don't know what time, maybe about 1am. This is quite bad considering we had been on the train since 4 30pm and the card games were mixed with three bottles of vodka! Fortunately I didn't drink that much and as I had done so much relaxing the last two days I coped well with the lack of sleep and didn't suffer with a hangover unlike Marta who had one of the worst ones I've ever seen.

Also I know I havn't put many photos on yet but thats because it takes ages! The ones I've put on so far took me two hours to do and as I've said before I'm usually pretty pressed for time. Hue would have been an ideal time to put some on but unfortunately there was a lack of computer availability. I am in Laos at the moment so I will try to get some more on but I imagine I will be pretty busy as there's so much I want to do here. So apologies if I don't manage it - you'll see them eventually!
:D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb