Squid Faces and a Wedding


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » North Central Coast » Quang Binh » Dong Hoi
June 26th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post


Squid Faces and a Wedding
Asia » Vietnam » Dong Hoi
June 26th 2007

Certain things are becoming familiar to me here and I have begun to develop small routines. I even have a bicycle for commuting to work. I have been in the office two days and the women there, most of whom are around my age, seem to have a blast intoducing me to Vietnamese culture. I had lunch with them yesterday where they tried to help me with my chopstick issues (i don't even hold a pencil correctly...) and delighted in bringing more and more food to the table for me to try. Despite the freshness and and the general light qulaity of the food here, I think I might end up gaining weight like I did in Tanzania. Chi Sen had refused to tell me I was eating sea snake until I tried it first, but these women did not think anything of my gastonomical fearlessness. In fact they were surprised that I had never had squid heads or sea snake before. Remembering the fried chicken head on my plate in a Hanoi restaurant, I explained how in the U.S. most people don't want their food to look like it had once been an actual animal (hamburgers for example), and they laughed when I said that the little squid had a cute face before popping it my mouth. Truthfully, I was really proud of myself. A squid is not that adventurous and I had eaten much more exotic food before without a thought, but I have had difficulty with seafood, especially chewy seafood. I'm trying to expand my palate, and Vietnamese flavoring is definately helping. I ate so much squid I felt the need for a nap afterwards.

Today the staff at the office, including me, was invited to attend a wedding. I was told while at work, and I was a little worried that I was under-dressed in pants and a minimally dressy cotton top. But most of the other girls had jeans on so I didn't think too much of it. The reception (we were not there for the ceremony) had more of a summer BBQ party feel to it than an elegantly formal wedding reception. Each table had communal bowls and plates heaped with delicious food and warm beer served with ice was raised over and over in toasts to the couple. Food debris was thrown to the floor and everyone wandered around greeting and toasting each other while guests took turns singing karaoke. It was all over relatively quickly and we were back at the office in maybe an hour and a half.

I do not have any pictures to post with this entry because I have not taken any since my beach walk on Saturday. I am still trying to remedy my love of captured images and my reluctance to be the intrusive tourist with the ubiquitous camera around the neck. I haven't even taken the camera out of the hotel room for days. Not that I have any presumptions about my ability to belnd in here, but I have always delt with this dilemma when I travel. Maybe I'll go on a photo tour of the town later today. I am feeling pretty socail and I always enjoy taking photos and feel less guilty and akward if I am making friends in the process.

Advertisement



26th June 2007

squid
Wow! Im so impressed, Missy! You are much more adventurous in the food realm than I!!!!!!!! I understand what you mean about photographing in another culture. I really do. On the other hand, the pix you've posted so far have totally changed my perception of Viet Nam! It's a GOOD change and I thoroughly enjoy seeing it through your eyes. Thanks for whatever you can do.
26th June 2007

Mazeltov!
Glad to see you're feeling more comfortable there... are the people you work with primarily foreigners? westerners?
26th June 2007

I want sea snake.
I have your blog on my bookmarks bar. Your travel writing is my favorite thing to read right now. Thank you for sharing these experiences with us; keep up the good work. I love details! Love 'em! And geez, I want to try sea snake!
26th June 2007

we want pictures!
boring...u know i cant read , i need pictures to know what your up too! hahaha...ah..love u and my prays are with u!
27th June 2007

Palate.
What's a palate?
2nd July 2007

Palate
A palate is what you eat your slad from.

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb