Delta


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » Tien Giang » My Tho
May 30th 2007
Published: May 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

May 30, 2007
Mekong Delta…a small town (not sure where)...Ben Tre
Humid, night time
7:19pm

I am skipping dinner right now. I promise all we seem to do is eat. It’s usually been going: eat, class, eat, class, “free time (2 hours),” eat, bar, sleep. It’s not like I’m ever full at dinner or any meal, its just the action of eating. I can’t do it anymore. Plus I have not run in more than a week. I feel fat, all I really, really want to do it run. For those who know me know this is not too much of a request from me. I’m so tempted to just go now even thou it is like pitch black. It gets dark over here at like 6pm…I mean like dark.
The hotel we are in is much nicer than the guest house we were staying in in HCMC. There are no cockroaches thus far. And we have a great few of the ____ river. I’ll find out the name when people get back.
So today was pretty kool. We checked out of the hotel around 7:30am, put our bags on the bus and had breakfast. Then we went to our last day of class. *I keep think things are crawling on me, sorry* yea it was our last day of class. Yesterday was our field trip day where we went up to random people and tried out of Vietnamese skills. To bad the people Lee-Anne and I went up to spoke English a little (like a lot of people in this country). It was fun, we exchanged emails with these two Vietnamese guys (21 year old people!!). then we had to go to the market and bargin. I bought 4 mangos…ripe mangos for $0.25USD. I was so happy.
Anyway back to today’s events. We took a 1 hour bus ride to the delta. Once there we took a boat tour on the Mekong River. Yea, you can not see through that water. In Vietnam, trash is a big problem. There do not have trash cans anywhere or napkins at meals. First stop on the tour was at a coconut candy “factory.” Yea, a group of 6 women making fresh coconut candy and then packaging them. They were good so I bought two packages. We’ll see if they make it home.*smile. Then we had lunch. I have some good pictures from that event. It has to do with kissing a fish and holding a python snake. One of the girls in the group, tracy, got scratched by a monkey in a cage. She is in HCMC right now. They are being cauctions just in case it is rabies. I don’t think its that serious thou.
After lunch we had a smaller boat tour on a stream in the jungle. We had one person in the front rowing and another Vietnamese in the back rowing. We got to try tropical fruit and have coconut milk straight out of the nut.
So yea we are now in the hotel…..Oh, yesterday I got to go shopping.!!! In the market, I must clarify. The place was huge. Just huge. So much stuff. Just to name a few: Coach bags, Louis Vutton, Ralph Lauren, Dolce and Gabbana, chopsticks, plates, jewelry of all kinds, so many shoes, fabrics, silk, handbags, weird/nasty smelling food, smoke pipes. I can not really write down everything. I did forget my camera so I’ll have to go to another one in Hanoi and Hue. I know I will.
Oh my gosh, I’m watching asian music videos right now. These boys are so funny. They are getting so emotional with their song.
I can not keep my fingernails clean. Its so gross. And if I could I would so take a shower twice or three times a day. But that would mean so much underwear and clothes to wash. I cannot describe how humid it is. I’m mad no one told me this before I came here. Quite honestly, I can not wait to go home. The FIRST thing I am going to do it take a shower. HOT and Long. Then I’m going to wash me clothes, if I decide to even bring them back. The water here is so not clean. Then I’ll p


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb