ALWAYS BACK UP YOUR PHOTOS!!!!!!!!!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » An Giang » Chau Doc
January 19th 2007
Published: January 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, not actually Ho Chi Minh afterall. On the last evening in Phon Pehn, myself and Evan got talking to Lyndsey, an american girl who was also travelling to Vietnam. She was getting the boat from Phom Penn, and was kind enough to allow me to tag along.

Before we left however, we all went out to a big cambodian club called Spark. The drinks were really expensive, but it was lots of fun, with some of the worst back-up dancers I have ever seen. Even weirder was the really gory horrer movie that was showing on the massive tv screens. Still, a good night was had by all.

I had to get up at a very early 5am to get the boat. However, first we had to get a small minibus for an hour or so to the river. On the way I was showing the people there some photos on my camera. Once we got on the boat, we had a very pleasant float down the river. Unfortunately, I realised that my camera was missing. I must have somehow left it on the bus. I frantically asked if anyone had seen it, but the Cambodian guy who was leading the trip said it hadn't been found (even after I offered a $100 "reward"). I was pretty annoyed, particularly as I hadn't backed up my photos from Cambodia and Thailand. Still, these things happen if you're not careful. So, I've got a new camera, and will be backing up the photos now ever week or so. Plus, my camera now stays on a key chain in my pocket.

Evetually, we arrived at the border, and Vietnam. We ended the journey at Chau Doc.

I found the place to be really great. Quite sleepy, and not so used to seeing westeners (lots of "Helooos!" from the kids and smiles fro the adults). Myself and Lyndsey hired a motorbike to get to the top of a hill which offered a fantastic view of the Mekong Delta.

We planned on getting a cargo boat to the next stop (Cantho). However, it seemed this was impossible. So, the next day Lyndsay and I crammed ourselves into another mini-bus for the trip to Cantho.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 80; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb