Dr Zeuss meets Gaudi in Da Lat to create 'The Crazy House'


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Central Highlands » Lam Dong » Da Lat
July 6th 2011
Published: July 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Contemplating over the last twenty minutes how to describe the Crazy House experience and I'm still trying to decipher this experience. Ripping through my mind I withdrew several slides of art history books displaying Gaudi creations all over Spain. His twisting shapes, bending iron, and colorful ideas filled my head. Looking over the architectural drawings on display near the main entrance there twisting roof lines, swirling window pains and bright beautiful colors reminded me of Dr. Seuss. But again... how do I describe all this bending turning twisted architectural excellence, I don't. I just upload all my photographs and let you take the Crazy House tour for FREE. Hope you enjoy? Oh Yea... If you are ever in Da Lat, you can head out to the Crazy House yourself but your first and only question should be "have you finished the carpentry yet? Or is it still just a concrete shell?" This will save you the 30,000 dong entrance fee and three hours of your life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The familyThe family
The family

behind Crazy House
BB
B

Pheasant room staircase
GG
G

New construction
HH
H

The floors
II
I

Wall engraving
JJ
J

Interior... dining room
MM
M

Wall


Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb