Erawan National Park, Waterfalls


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Erawan NP
December 12th 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Erawan National Park was about an hour and a half bus ride from where we were staying on the first river hut in Kanchanaburi...

The major attraction of the park is Erawan Falls, a waterfall named after the erawan, the three-headed white elephant of Hindu mythology. The seven-tiered falls are said to resemble the erawan. And let me tell you, in my mist of hiking and sweating in the Thailand sun, I think I just might have seen a three-headed white elephant... or two?! The trail was steep, slippery and non-existent from time to time, but not to worry because I had professionals with me (Claire and Bonnie) that kept me in check and we dominated that mountain hike and all seven waterfalls in record breaking time!

Soooo the morning started out with all three girls waking up on yet again, another river hut, this time we were in the forest, and we were surrounded in a thick layer of FOG (Sai Yok National Park). This made choosing what to wear pretty interesting because well, lets face it we've been wearing summer clothes the whole trip... after we got all packed up and ready to head out to the
Morning of waterfallsMorning of waterfallsMorning of waterfalls

This is a Thai style omelette, and it is DELISH!
waterfall we stopped at a local small restaurant still in the park and decided to get some breakfast to power us up for our big fun filled waterfall day!

The breakfast choice for all three of us, THAI STYLE omelette's! Simply delicious. There's something about the way they fry their eggs... and not to mention that their eggs taste ten times better then any eggs from home. Anywho, I finally found some THAI TEA! Which I have been elusively hunting ever since I first stepped foot on Thai soil... every time I eat at a Thai restaurant in the States I am as happy as a clam drinking Thai Tea. But since I have arrived I haven't been able to find it anywhere? So for the past week or so I've has the horrible idea that it was a "made up" drink of Thailand... and America had pulled a fast one on me.... BUUUUUUT NOT TO WORRY. ITS REAL! I found it in a small random forest restaurant 😊 So the illusive Thai Tea does exist. You may now continue your everyday lives! hahahaha ha ha hah hahah aaa

***Side note*** Because of my gleeeeee in finding the
Morning of waterfallsMorning of waterfallsMorning of waterfalls

Meet our new Thai friends! They were headed to the waterfalls as well :)
Thai Tea, I decided to CHUG down two huge cups of it... and oddly enough a couple hours later (stuck on the bus to the waterfalls) I encountered some MAJOR plumage problems? Causing major pain and well... plumage. EWWW. Anywho, Claire and Bon Bon like to think it was the Thai Tea. I'm leaning towards something else 😊

So after the lovely breakfast we ran into some young boys who were from Thailand (but spoke some English) who were crusin on a road trip'ish vacation.... and they were headed to Erawan National Park as well! So it was perfect... we hitched a ride with them, saved some money, and made some new friends!

The park and waterfalls were absolutely breath taking. At the first thought of doing a long day of buses, just to go see a "waterfall" I wasn't all that thrilled... but upon arriving at the park and actually hiking through this beautiful place, I took back any doubts I had conjured up that morning. All the sweat and rushing to get up and down the mountain before the last bus left for the day was all worth it. Not only were we able to enjoy
Driving to waterfallsDriving to waterfallsDriving to waterfalls

Crammed into the back of a pick of with our new Thai friends!
this lavish forest full of wildlife (we saw monkeys swingin around!) and beautiful waterfalls... but we were able to JUMP in and swim around with beautiful fish at the base of one of the biggest waterfalls there! It was absolutely amazing to be able to swim up to waterfall and then climb up and behind it... and then chill out in a cave, on the other side of the waterfall.

Just breath taking 😊 It was well worth it!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Bus Rid to waterfallsBus Rid to waterfalls
Bus Rid to waterfalls

Bonnie and Claire 'chillin'
At the base of the hikeAt the base of the hike
At the base of the hike

I FOUND AN ELEPHANT EAR!!!
Waterfall trailWaterfall trail
Waterfall trail

Just ah-mazing.
Waterfall trailWaterfall trail
Waterfall trail

This was our favorite one!
Waterfall trailWaterfall trail
Waterfall trail

We made Claire jump in first!
Waterfall trailWaterfall trail
Waterfall trail

The HUGE fish were totally SUCKLING on our toes!
Night MarketNight Market
Night Market

STUFFIN our faces on some kind of a spicy squid?! Claire wasn't too happy about me forcing her to try it!
Night MarketNight Market
Night Market

My corn/waffle/heart and Claire's jelly/pastry thing?! P.S. CLAIRE IS SICK!!! Bonnie contaminated her. Notice the tissue :(


16th December 2008

Oma says HALO!
I just thought of a great idea... I'm printing out your travel blogs and mailing them to Oma =) ... this way she can be updated and receive mail to keep her busy. Doctor says Oma's right hip is bad, not her knee. There is no cartilege left so the bones are rubbing which makes walking so painful. Oma is deciding on whether or not to have hip surgery. Still send her postcards though. She misses you, we all do!! Liebe Dich!

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb