8/13-8/19


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Trang
October 21st 2008
Published: October 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I'm pretty sure that from now on i'll be writing blogs for the week before, just because I never have time to just sit every day and write about what I did that week. So yup.

Monday 8/13-
Another busy day with the children, we did a lot of dancing and signing and played with playdoh, you know the usual. After work Sam, Kiri and I road the bikes to Tesco in a thunderstorm, it was POURING out but it was so much fun. We went so that Sam could buy a camera and it was also language lesson and we didn't want to go (mom i know, im sorry! but the classes are SO boring!!) Thai is such a hard language to learn. Its a tonal language meaning that every word has 5 different meanings depending on the tone that you use when saying the word. So the word suay, means beautiful when said one way but can also mean Bad luck, fishy smell and rice when said a different way. So I've sorta given up on the language, I mean I still know the basic things to get me through the day but I'm not going to learn much more then that.

Tuesday 8/14-
Today after work we went to a kick boxing camp. There were so many little boys and only 2 girls(but it is still amazing to even see little girls doing kick boxing. The kids go there after school every day until 830-9pm and just do continues practice and working out. There are 3 champions that go to the camp and we got to watch them "fight" it was really cool. Then we got to get in the ring and actually do some kick boxing of our own, it was pretty neat, and really sweaty and hot but fun. I didn't have my camera with me so I don't have any pictures, sorry 😞

Wednesday 8/15-
Another busy day at the day care. The new kid Win Win is getting better he doesn't cry at all during the day but then come nap time and he wont stop crying. Its really sad and quit annoying because it keeps up all the other kids.
After work today we had a BBQ at the house and for some entertainment some Thai dancers. It was SO cool. The way that they can bend their fingers backwards, its kinda creapy. But the dancing was really cool and unfortunitaly I didn't have my camera with me so I don't have any pictures.

Thursday 8/16-
I started feeling really sick this morning and wasn't really up for much. Work was sorta just a blur, the same old thing. After work we did something that I can't talk about yet. I got my mother something from here and she will know instantly what it is if I say where we went...sorry 😊


Friday 8/16-
I was still feeling pretty shitty and not down for doing much. We (all the volunteers plus Khem and Jack) went to Krabi to go see this Tiger Temple. There aren't actually any tigers there but the temple is built in this cave that tigers used to live in, or something like that. To get to the actual temple you have to climb 1,237 steps. We all tried it, me and sam ended up turning right around. It was crazy, it wasn't like steps that your used to, some were higher up then the one before, or crooked, or slanted downwards, it was definitely interesting, and to make it even worse there were LING!! (monkeys) all over the place. You had to hold on to your stuff really tight if you didn't want them to take it. It was funny seeing them with sunglasses on and beers in their hands(no joke). So me and Sam went and chilled with Khem and Darlene back at the bottom and watched as the monkeys stole peoples food right out of their hands, they even stole my pumpkin seeds....stupid monkeys.
After the temple we went to this hot waterfall place. It was pretty cool. It was raining out so that made it a lot better.

Saturday 8/17, Sunday 8/18-
I was sick so I didn't go with the group on the weekend trip. They were to spend most of the trip on a boat and I didn't think that would go over well with my stomach so I did the responsible thing and stayed home. It was actually pretty nice having the time to myself and just being able to truly relax.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

KoKoKoKo
KoKo

He is NUTS
AshleyAshley
Ashley

And the camera whore
PA130531PA130531
PA130531

Blo and his superman costume
PA130532PA130532
PA130532

Singing the national anthem
MM
M

Both his parents are dead
PA130558PA130558
PA130558

The lunch/snack room
PA130559PA130559
PA130559

One of the class rooms
PA130560PA130560
PA130560

Another class room
NineNine
Nine

actually smiling for once. You have no idea how rare of a picture this is.


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0904s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb