Rainbow Gathering


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ranong
January 4th 2007
Published: January 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Rainbow GatheringRainbow GatheringRainbow Gathering

The Food Circle, just before lunch time
Okay, how do I describe my 3 days at the "Rainbow Gathering"?? First I guess I better explain what this whole rainbow culture is all about. From my understanding, it is an international community of people (of the free-spirit variety) that have common thoughts on peace and spirituality. Since first arriving in Thailand I've been hearing about this international gathering, here in Thailand from many other travellers and more or less just kind of shrugged it off as something I wasn't interested in. But then when in Ranong doing my VISA run, I didn't realize how close I was to this gathering and 2 people at the guest house I was at were on their way and invited me to come along. As I had no pressing plans, I decided it wouldn't hurt to check it out...

So, we arrive in the middle of nowhere, walk 20 minutes along the beach away from nowhere, further into nowhere and come to this small campsite with a 60 yearold hippy sitting there greeting people like a WalMart greeter, with a big sign that says welcome home. We rounded the corner and it was the hugest campout I've ever seen. Even bigger than one of my family reunions! 600 "free-spirits" camped out in the beach, in the jungle, in self-made tree forts, it was nuts. Through-out the day, people would run work shops on Yoga, Tarot cards, theatre, Thai massage, you name it, you could learn anything. Meal time was twice a day, and you would find out that the food was ready as the cooks yelled out "food circle" and it got echoed down the beach until everyone got the news. Then the masses joined around the main fire, held hands and sang strange songs before the food arrived, very strange. Nothing costs anything, and everyone just helps out the way they can. I helped out in the kitchen, it was fun and I met some very interesting people. At one point, 10 of us were rolling out dough for Chipote bread and of the 10, 5 of us were from Vancouver island. Way too small world.

After three days of chanting in circles, a nudist riot and two days of sleeping on the beach in my sleeping bag with the sand fleas, I decided I was ready to move on. Bobby, the Tofino guy I met in Ranong, decided to head down to Krabi. It was a very interesting experience, and although it was entirely not my scene, I'm very glad I got to see it. I will never forget it that's for sure!

Advertisement



21st January 2007

So, I guess what you're saying is that you want to move to Saltspring when you come home?
23rd January 2007

"My Thai Girl!"
So good to hear your voice on the phone, but also so much fun to read about your adventures. It seems everywhere you go, you say, " I'm going to be so sad to leave here..." Such a tough life you're living right now eh Shauna Bear? And to think you're missing out on all this wild and woolly west coast weather laying there on the sunny beaches of Thailand. Can't wait to hear your voice again (hopefully skype) and to read more. love your rain soaked, wind swept momma XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO

Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb