Roughing it jungle style!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Railay
May 16th 2006
Published: May 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Reclining BuddhaThe Reclining BuddhaThe Reclining Buddha

Didn't have the chance to add any pictures to my last entry -- this is the Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho temple I wrote about
Hi everyone!

Well... a 16 hour bus ride later, and a long tail boat out to the Rai-leh penninsula, and we've officially arrived in Southern Thailand!

The scenery is amazing -- it is the epitome of the white sand, green water beaches that typify Thailand. Only one day in the sun and I am already feeling like a totally different person than the stress-case, library bound student I was less than a month ago.

Mark and I arrived in Rai-leh early yesterday morning after the grueling bus ride (the night train was already booked up, and we had to opt for plan B, a less than glamourous, not really air conditioned, terrifyingly driven coach all the way from Bangkok to Krabi-town.) The long tail boat ride out to the penninsula was really beautiful - through blue green waters and surrounded on all sides by the jagged limestone cliffs that this region of the country is so well known for.

We've settled... umm... comfortably into our accomodation for the next few days. We are staying in a place called "Railay Hillside Bungalows" -- a "resort" that the Lonely Planet guide for Thailand spoke fairly high of, and is
West Rai-leh BeachWest Rai-leh BeachWest Rai-leh Beach

... what can I say, really?
really, all things considered, a surreal place to be staying. We have a little thatched bungalow to ourselves -- equipped with a gravity toilet, a cold shower, and a mattress on the floor with bug net included. It has easily become, in only one day, a home away from home, but trust me when I say that that took some getting used to. After two episodes of cockroach hunting, a gecko sighting in the bathroom, and a host of other small insect and wildlife experiences, I now consider myself to be completely versed in the animal life of Thailand! It has been an experience!

Other than getting used to the bugs and the crazy heat, I am loving every second of the latest adventure. My newest fascination is with fireflies -- something that I have never experienced before, and one of the things in life that have turned out to be MORE impressive than I could have ever imagined. They fly around all over the place here after the sun goes down, and they flicker on and off so brightly every few seconds, little a tiny little LED light in the darkness. It has quickly become one of my favorite passtimes -- just standing quietly in the dark watching as they blink on and off as they explore the world. It makes me feel like a little kid again -- kind of immortal in the neverending glory of the summer.

It is hard to believe how refreshing the beautiful beaches and the ocean can be. The pace of life is so relaxed and friendly. Mark and I have been spending a lot of time just sitting in hammocks on our balcony reading, or swimming in the bath-water-warm ocean. It is definitely a bonding experience for brother and sister, and I can't really think of anyone else that I'd rather have as a travel companion.

With all that said, the next few days are up in the air as far as destination goes, and I'm sure that before the week is out we will be tired and cranky with each other. We are planning on heading off on a boat trip to Ko-Lanta, one of the islands nearby, within the next day or two. After that we will head north again, perhaps to a few more beaches on the eastern side of the penninsula, or perhaps back up
Cockroach Hunting!Cockroach Hunting!Cockroach Hunting!

What would I do without my brother?
towards Bangkok in preparation for Northern Thailand.

Hope that everyone is doing well, and enjoying the summer. I think about all of you often, and hope you're all safe and keeping happy. I will continue to update as the journey continues... thanks to everyone who reads the blogs -- it means a lot.

Love to all of you,
~Lisa~

Advertisement



16th May 2006

Wow!
Sounds absolutely gorgeous. Meanwhile, I'm here in Halifax on a gray, rainy, and somewhat cold day. You have no idea how much I wish I was there. Haha. Drop me an e-mail when you get a chance. Miss you! - D
16th May 2006

Hi...I just came upon your blog...sounds like a wonderful place to visit (although the bugs would freak me out a little). I think I'm too (eeek) girlie. Have fun!
26th May 2006

Ok here I am leaving you messages at home wondering where the heck you are and thinking "she hasn't left yet has she?" BUT I am all caught up now. Your trip sounds amazing so far, keep the updates coming. I am living vicariously...bugs and all. Lots of love.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb