Two weeks in a few words but great pictures.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Railay
January 31st 2008
Published: January 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Leather FactoryLeather FactoryLeather Factory

Vests! Yes!
It has been a while since my last entry. Let me catch you up....last I left off I was in Chiang Mai. We stayed in Chiang Mai for a few more days doing some days trips to local Wats, industry (see the leather factory pic), and a local climbing crag. After 9 days of staying at our hostel we decided to go south for some sun and some climbing. We left on a Thursday and rolled into paradise about half past noon on a Saturday.

I couldn't tell you day by day of what we did; if I didn't have to leave two days ago I wouldn't even know the date or the day of the week. This is the kind of place Ton Sai is. It is that laid back, only dirt roads that a few motor bikes travel, simple bungalows, a simple way of life. At our favorite breakfast place it would take upwards of 30 minutes to get food and it never came out at the same time; we would get take out lunch from here as well and we would order that before breakfast because it took 45 minutes to make two tuna sandwiches. This is
Climbing in Chaing MaiClimbing in Chaing MaiClimbing in Chaing Mai

It took us 3 hours to get there and 45 to get home but it was totally worth it.
the kind of place Ton Sai is. It's just laid back, there are never any issues, disagreements, it is all just chilled out. We spent probably 10 days there climbing, hiking, and hanging on the beach; I have a feeling we will be heading back to Ton Sai soon.

The pictures can only do justice to the place.

I'm currently in Kuala Lumpur for a few days before we head up to the world's oldest rainforest, Tamra Negara. More updates soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Ton SaiTon Sai
Ton Sai

View from the belay station on Thaiwand Wall.
Climbing in Chiang MaiClimbing in Chiang Mai
Climbing in Chiang Mai

No idea how we found it. The directions said, "take a left after a delapidated bus stop"...it apparently fell down because there was no bus stop in sight.
Ton SaiTon Sai
Ton Sai

Top of the climb on Thaiwand wall.
Sunset at Ton SaiSunset at Ton Sai
Sunset at Ton Sai

Rich, Mo, Ilana, and I at sunset on Railey West beach.
Sunset from Ton SaiSunset from Ton Sai
Sunset from Ton Sai

Low tide created pools that the sunset reflected off of.
My Wayne Rooney PoseMy Wayne Rooney Pose
My Wayne Rooney Pose

Our waiters/friends Jack and Daniel both thought I was Wayne Rooney. Daniel asked me for my autograph when I first walked in the resturant.
A view from the topA view from the top
A view from the top

Totally worth the blood and the sweat.
Hike to the top of Ton SaiHike to the top of Ton Sai
Hike to the top of Ton Sai

We "deveated" from the path to follow the ridge line. It was a little percarious at times.
Deep Water SoloingDeep Water Soloing
Deep Water Soloing

We did a trip Deep Water Soloing (climbing over water without ropes...it's scarier than it sounds.) I was the last on the wall when a Japanese TV crew came over to do some taping. They shot me climbing for a while and then realized what they had, Wanye Rooney deep water soloing. Being a private person, I denied the interview, Rich being part of my entourage had to ask them to leave. I am waiting for the headlines to read, "Wayne Rooney spoted climbing off of Southeast Asia." Funny enough, I met a member of the paparazzi that evening and convinced her I had pictures of Wayne Rooney and was willing to sell them to her. I'm still waiting on the royalties.
Orchid in Kuala LumpurOrchid in Kuala Lumpur
Orchid in Kuala Lumpur

We stoped at an orchid farm in KL. Why? It was free and orchids are AWESOME.


31st January 2008

Leather Vests
I was at a party, and I saw a guy with a leather jacket, and I thought, 'That's cool'. Then I saw a guy with a leather vest and I thought, 'That's not cool'. It was then that I realized what coolness is all about... leather sleeves. "I OWN LEATHER SLEEVES." -Demetri Martin

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb