Ride #12: Patong to Patong


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
April 11th 2011
Published: April 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The shortest ride of the trip.

2 days in patong had turned to 7 days. after spending 3.5 weeks with only the odd conversation I thought I'd hang out in patong for a bit long and have some odd conversations. Each day was going to be my last and I would head to and irish bar to use the wifi (its the only place I could find wifi) and email the guy at the yoga retreat to tell him that I would be coming the next. Unfortunately when sitting in an irish bar there is some sort of assumption by the staff that you would order a drink, so I did. That is fine until somebody sits next to you and starts talking, then you need to get a second pint, etc,etc...... This happened a few times until finally I could take no more. avoid the pubs for a day and managed to get on my bike the next, not for very long though. About 1km into the ride I got to the hill. I had thought coming over the hill that this side seemed a little less steep but longer, thats alright as long as I can get up the damn hill. Nope. Stupid hill hit 16% after only a few metres. I had to get off. I was in no condition to be riding up steep hills today. I pushed the bike for a bit and even then it was a struggle. The insides of the turns were incredibly steep and I thought that I wasn't even going to be able to push my bike up them. I soldiered on for a little bit until the heat and the week of drinking took its toll. I had to stop and sit down for a bit. I got to the top of a crest and sat on the curb in the shade. My stomach was churning. This didn't feel good. From here I could see the rest of the climb. The road dipped down for a bit and then climbed up again and out of sight. If I was going to have to push my bike I was going to be pushing for a few kms. Ugghh. Time to turn around. Crossed the road and head back down the hill. "I'll get the hotel to call me a taxi and get a lift to the damn pier". When I got back to the hotel the lady tried to call a taxi but wasn't having much luck with finding one that would take a bike. Still feeling a bit rough I booked backed into the hotel and fell asleep for 3 hours.
When I got up I went looking for either a taxi or an alternative. For people who live in patong they know very little about the area. Its like they just work and don't do anything else, which is completely true unfortunately for them. I was speaking to one masseuse who works 13 hour days and gets 1 day off every 10 days. She also only gets paid for the customers she massages and the previous day had only two customers which meant she got paid 200baht ($6.66 for 13 hours work), not even enough for my daily coffees back in oz. The girls that worked in the bar in one of the hotels I was staying in (regular bar) got paid 7,000 baht a month ($230). Strange to think that I get paid more for the time I take going for coffees in a week than they get paid for working 12 hour days for a month. No wonder you see so many of them with old white dudes.
Anyhou, after asking about I finally found a someone that could tell me what the north road out of patong was like. Well, at least he said the hills weren't as steep or as big as the road to phuket. I guess I'd find out tomorrow.
Ride #12: done (sort of)

Advertisement



14th April 2011

Som travel advice for my comrad
Greetings My Son I have have just finished reading through your facinating blog within which gives to me clear impressions of your travels and times in Thailand. Something I detect is a keen interest in hotels of Irish style. One other is a sort of aversion to the food of the region. I suspect your stomach is more wanting of the blander fare often found on those island nations out to the side of the european continent. I think you are nearing the end of your trip which has me wondering to where you are headed next? Well lucky for you, I have been fortunate to have travelled about bit, attending various summits and defence arrangements around the world, and think the place you must go and see for yourself is that little wind swept colony to the west of England known as Ireland. This place is blessed with masses of irish pubs and you wont find anyone trying to temp you with spiced chicken and basil - just the comfort of wholesom pies, potatoes and gravy. Accomodation too is made easy. No need to rent a room, everywhere you go you will be able to just buy place and stay as long as you need and move on with the way things are going over there. You should enjoy. I too am in negotiations for a nice wee hideaway somewhere near Cleggan; somewhere cosy I can sneak away to and turn my back on this ungrateful and disloyal bunch. Anyway all the best to you TBB and perhaps our paths will cross. Regards Your Excellency Colonel Gaddafi, Leader of the Revolution.

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb