Phuket - goodbye to the land of Thai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
May 13th 2010
Published: May 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

On the boat over we had booked a minibus to meet us and take us to our booked hostel. We were very glad as the port looked a bit empty of taxis and tuk tuks (very strange in Thailand).

We had chosen to stay in a place called Patong beach. We had heard that it was a bit seedy and a bit of an odd place but an Australian woman we met in Phi Phi assured us that this is where we should stay as it was where all the facilities were and everywhere else was miles out. It was a very big island and so she was probably right about it being a good central location but we hadn't factored in that she was probably staying in one of the very nice resorts where you wouldn't have to actually leave much! Thankfully we had picked a good place to stay (Bodega), the staff were lovely and it had a nice young Thai arty feel to it. Although the room smelt a little questionably at times, it was OK. Especially when we walked around Patong and realised where we could have ended up.

We were right next to a massive western type shopping centre (had an Arsenal shop in just for Dan) which normally I wouldn't be too keen on but in Phuket, it was a blessing! Although there were a few OK Thai shops/markets around it wasn't as nice as the rest of Thailand. We were also near the most famous road in Patong - Bangla Road. Full of Go Go Bars, LadyBoys, Ping Pong shows etc etc it is an experience. It is fairly sad how many 40/50 year old single white blokes are trawling around the streets or drinking alone in bars waiting to be approached.

Anyway, apart from that the beach is lovely - you can understand why such a massive tourist spot has sprung up around it. Spent a couple of afternoons there wave jumping, playing frisbee (very unsucsessfully) and got the chance to watch a wonderful sunset one evening. Went bowling and played pool - I actually beat Dan once (first time for everything I suppose). We then spent the rest of our time sorting out what we wanted to send home and readying ourselves for Oz. Phuket is not like the rest of Thailand and I hope that if anyone ends up here, they don't get put off visiting other areas of Thailand.

So what are my impressions of Thailand overall (we'll exclude Phuket for this part)...

It's busy, growing, passionate yet peaceful, traditional and friendly. Whatever you are looking for can be found in Thailand and although the days of mega cheap prices are over, it is very good value for money. You get a sense that the old hippie backpacker trail is being replaced by more upmarket tourism and that in 10 years time, it will be a different place but I don't think the Thai way of life/attitude/culture is going anywhere fast. The Thai people are so friendly and welcoming and like a good laugh - with you or at you! Thai people also never ever sweat - seriously, it's a bit weird! The words "Tuk Tuk" and "Massaaaaaaaaaaaaaaage" will forever ring in my ears. Thai food is better than it is at home and I am still a big big fan (unlike Chinese food). I love Thailand and although it is not what I expected and suprised me constantly I would love to go back (maybe in cool season though) and explore further as I feel we have only just scratched the surface. You would all love it - seriously!!

Advertisement



13th May 2010

Jut reading your latest blog- great I have missed them. I replied earlier about you saying I was awesome but I uderstand these days that is a compliment - the way I describe awsome is someone you are a little afraid of and over powering therefore I apologise - modern day language you see I do not always underrstand. I see on the news tonight there is more trouble in Bangkok and some other parts of the cfountry so glad you are away from there. What do you think about this coalition government - different is i not. Just been to Church as it is Ascension Day. Carol has been with me this week and we have really had a good time -like aholiday, havbe been out every day and all over the place and eaten every mealout - I havd really enjoyed myself. Lot of love to you and to Dan - hop his leg is OK now. Your lovingly grandma xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb