We're Certified!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
December 29th 2009
Published: December 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow!
The last 3 days have been simply amazing!!
We’re officially certified “Open Water Divers” 18 meters!!
It was a lot more work than I thought, but it was also fun and exciting! The first day was the hardest. We got to the dive shop at 9am, and all we did was watch videos, read our books, quizzes, and one exam. That was all completed by about 2:30pm. Our class was also a fun bunch. Two chaps from South Africa, and one guy from Venezuela. Our instructor, Andy, from the UK, really cool guy and one dive master, Amy (Thai)!
Then it was off to the pool for training. First, a 200 meter swim test, second, treading water for 10 minutes. Then they pretty much showed us everything we needed to know to survive in the water. It was a lot of info to take in, but it should get easier with more practice!!
2nd/3rd Day: Open Water Dive!!
This is where it gets fun! I didn’t really know what to expect, and I wasn’t even sure if I’d have enough courage to go through with it. I mean being under water could get a little scary if you know what I mean!! We left Phuket Island at 9am, and headed south for an hour and a half until we were just off the coast of Ko Rachai. They brought us into a little bay area, so once I saw that, I felt really comfortable. We geared up, jumped in, and away we went.

I must say, breathing under water is really an awesome feeling. We didn’t see as much fish as I thought, and we only went about 14 meters deep. We went over everything we did in the pool! Losing our masks and putting them back on, losing our regulator, locating it and putting it back in our mouths, assisting our swim buddy with air in case he/she runs out, swimming in a straight line under water, ascending properly in case of an emergency, and learning how to be buoyant under water!!

Mike and I are thinking of doing one more dive before we come back home. Maybe off the coast of Phi-Phi. It’s supposed to be beautiful out that way, with a lot of different kinds of fishes!
All of our underwater pictures are currently on a DVD, which we purchased from our instructor, so I won’t be able to post any yet, but the second I get a chance, I will. In the meantime, I’ll post of the above water shots!

We’ve decided to head over to Ko Samui and Ko Pha-Ngan for New Year’s after all. The flights are all still sold out, so we’re going to drive it!! We’re hoping to make it to the port in about 3 hours, then a 2 hour ferry ride with our car. We’ll be staying in Ko Samui for about 3 days, and we’ll head over to Ko Pha-Ngan for New Years Eve. They’re having a full moon party. Apparently it’s a pretty big thing! Not too sure what to expect, but I’ll be sure to fill you all in once I figure it out. We’re planning on getting out of here at 6am tomorrow morning, and it’s about 10:30am. It’s been 3 long days of sun and fun, and I’m pooped!!

Happy New Year’s everybody! Nothing but great things for you and yours for 2010!!
Type to you all in 2010!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



31st December 2009

Happy New Years
Hope your having fun and shaking your ass as it must be midnight now on new years eve. Sitting here checking out vacation spots as it looks like I have 2 job offers but nothing firm yet You won't believe this Toronto (YYZ) to Liberia (LIR) costa rica YYZ - LIR Sunwing Airlines $85.00 + $209.00 taxes Let you know if I go Rachel said its ok Chow for now
31st December 2009

Happy New Years
Have a great time. See you soon
7th January 2010

That's a steal, good for u! U deserve it Dave. Thanks for everything!!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb