Thai Phrase Book


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
May 8th 2009
Published: May 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've been looking at a Thai phrase book I picked up for 195B in Chiang Mai. I don't know if it's intentional or not but the following example seems rather amusing:

Thai: Faen mai kawng pom nah-son-jal mahk
Literal: Girlfriend new of mine interesting very much
English: My new girlfriend is very interesting

Thai: Kow chue nahng-sao goong
Literal: She name miss shrimp
English: Her name is Miss Shrimp

From now on I'll just give the English version

I suspect love will happen soon

She asked me to hold her hand

Then, she explained that I must kiss her

She said, "Dearest, you must kiss me!"

"Then did you kiss her?"

"No, I didn't kiss her"

"Why didn't you kiss her?"

"Because I kissed the ladyboy that was sitting next to her"

"Why did you kiss him?"

"Because he was cuter than the girl"

"Where is the girl?"

"I looked for her, but didn't find her

"I'm still waiting for her to come back"

Hmmmm. Well, I am not experienced in such matters but I suspect that love will not happen soon and that he will have a long wait!

It seemed an odd conversation for a phrase book. Maybe it was just to demonstrate the Thai word for ladyboy, which is "gatery". Incidental some male toilets here have signs saying "Men and Ladyboys".



Advertisement



8th May 2009

Ladyboy Troubles...
When I was in Phi Phi a friend of mine went back with a ladyboy 'by mistake'. I imagine he is still waiting for his love to come back too!

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb