Finally, the seaside!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
November 9th 2007
Published: September 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We wanted to fly into Phuket becasue we knew that the south of Thailand was home to all the tourism and we wanted to have a bit of proper holiday. We wanted beaches and sun and to swim in the sea. It doesn't get more touristy than Pa Tong.

We arrived late in the eveing and our first experince of South East Asia was a ride in a mimibus through a wet dark night, the lights occasionally illuminating a buddist shrine, a picture of the King or a road sign in unmistakabley Asian skript. Our guest house was just off the main strip and after dropping off my stuff I headed out into the close night air to find a quiet beer.

I soon discovered that go-go bars and sex toursim is a mainstay of Pa Tong. I walked up and down for at least half an hour before I found a place that didn't have girating girls out front. I chose the palce becasue, one it was empty, two there were no dancers in sight and three the music was being provided by two Thai men jamming with guitars. Within half an hour I was stumming along with them and generally feeling I'd found somthing more than the lowest common denominator. I'd found some friendly locals that I had a common interest with- not bad for half an hours work. They told me that their friend ran a small live music bar in a quiet town in the next bay and invited me to come along the next night. They could tell that Pa Tong was not really what I was after.

Our first day in South East Asia we headed straight for the beach. The sun was intermittent and the rain heavy when it came but I for one was detirmined to get my feet sandy and take a dip in the sea. We hadn't been to a beach since the first day of the entire trip and there is a big difference between the beach in Lima and the beaches of Thailand. By mid-afternoon the sun had won it's battle with the clouds and we found ourselves sprawled out on the soft sand laughing with each other that this was just what the doctor had ordered. That first time the cool water touched my feet I felt refreshed. Everyone loves a bit of beach.

Eddie felt a little under the weather that second night so again I headed out alone, intent on getting out of Pa Tong to this bar. The guys had written the name in Thai on a peice of paper which I showed to a tuk-tuk driver who simply smiled knowingly and started off. I had a great night. The company was good with a mix a ex-pats, some other refugees from Pa Tong and a constantly changing stream of locals; all of whom had some muscial ability and all of whom had at least two minutes in the spotlight. I'm afraid I too had an active roll to play when, to my horror, I heard over the PA that 'Jimmy from Engalnd will now wish that you are here..' I was handed a guitar and seated at a microphone and (with support from my 'friends') gave a quite horrible rendition of Wish You Were Here. Then I lost to a nine year old Thai at pool, got very drunk and someone ordered me a taxi back to Pa Tong. Good times!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.314s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.2775s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb