Bangkok and Phuket


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
May 6th 2008
Published: May 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

PhuketPhuketPhuket

Our Hotel in Patong Beach
This has been a while coming as I did not get to the internet in Bangkok, We are now home back in Melbourne so now I have time to write my final blog for our trip.
We arrived in Bangkok and were glad to get to the Indra Regent Hotel. The next day we had a look around the markets all around us and had a few swims. Then we went to the airport for our flight to Phuket after the last flight where I was last on, this time I was first on!!! Our accomodation in Patong Beach is very nice and the biggest bed I think it was 2 double beds pushed together. We are just having a lazy time while we are here just looking around the place and not buying much. We went to the Fantasea Show which I enjoyed but Des did not think much of it, but that's Des. After a few days we went on a James Bond Island Tour, It was raining that morning so we did not know how it would go, but it had stopped by the time we got to the Monkey Temoke, which was very good we went to
PhuketPhuketPhuket

Relaxing in the pool
the monkey temple which was a 90min. drive from our hotel. There were soooo many monkeys after that we went to the longtail boats and on to a floating fishing village for lunch and would you believe, shopping there were so many stalls then we went to James Bond Island for a look around and more shopping they sell things wherever they know their will be tourists. After that we went to a big boat to get on to the Canoes for an hour going to some caves you have someone to paddle the canoe for you, when you go through the caves you all have to lay down in the canoe even the person paddling and the cave is only about 6 inches above your face we had to take our life jackets off to fit down low enough. Luckly they were not very long and I had to close my eyes to go through and when you got through you were in a lagoon which were very nice. We went through about 3 caves. We were back in Patong Beach by 6.30pm It was a very enjoyable day.
We flew back to bangkok for some serious shopping it
PhuketPhuketPhuket

Having dinner in a local restraunt
was very hot and humid and you needed a swim after you came back to the hotel. We went to the huge Night Market in Bangkok for more shopping and then to Patpong Road for a look around the next day Des and I both had a Thai Massage 1 hour for 150 baht about$5.15 they sure earned their money, I was pretty sore after it, Des went back on our last day for another. I went to the Weekend Market in a taxi it took about 20 mins to get there, it was very exhausting and hot at the market I stayed for 4 hours and nearly melted away. At one time I was lost for about 1/2 hour in amongst all the animal stalls there was all sorts of birds and fish and fighting Cocks, I saw a Cock Fight in a concrete pit, there were men all around cheering them on. But it was fun, they were promoting some colored hair wax and they got me to sit down and tried some on me It sure looked different, I bought some for the Grand daughters. Back to the Hotel in a Taxi it took nearly 1 hour
PhuketPhuketPhuket

Feeding a monkey at the monkey temple
as their was traffic jams everywhere, I did a bit more shopping and then went to the hotel and straight in to the pool, then I remembered something else I wanted to buy and I went out again, and then back to the pool In the evening we looked around the night market in the streets around the hotel, and make a few last buys. We left the hotel for the airport at about 8.15 for our 12.15am flight back to Melbourne It was good to get back to the fresh air and not to be perspiring all the time. Time to settle down for a while now and catch up with everyone back home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

PhuketPhuket
Phuket

Arriving at the fishing Village for lunch on the way to James Bond Island
PhuketPhuket
Phuket

James Bond Island
PhuketPhuket
Phuket

We are about to go through the cave
PhuketPhuket
Phuket

Going to the cave
PhuketPhuket
Phuket

I had my nails done on the beach
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Colors in the hair
BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

Leaving Bangkok with all our luggage.


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0757s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb