Next Stop Phuket


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
November 12th 2005
Published: November 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Dear All

So mum's 3 week holiday is now over and she's flown back to England. We had a whale of a time and now she's deserted me to travel solo for the next year. OH MY GOD! I will admit I am finding it quite daunting but off to Phuket (by air, can't quite get my head round 14 hours on a train yet when it only takes an hour by air) Whoops - budget's broken already.

I haven't told you about our day in Chiang Mai last week - We had a day at an elephant sanctuary and it will definately take some beating - we watched the elephants have a bath in the river, they entertained us by showing their skills (which included logging, basketball, playing musical instruments - well, banging a tamborine! and painting - to be seen to be believed).

After that we had an elephant trek & at one point the 'driver' got off and told me to get down from the seat to sit on the poor elephants head - fabulous (but I do admit I did hold on pretty tight). Our elephant was called Boomby and she was four months
Bamboo raftingBamboo raftingBamboo rafting

A gentle ride down the river
pregnant (poor thing carrying us two) and she can eat bananas like there's no tomorrow.

After the elephants had had enough of us we drifted down the river on a bamboo raft, very quiet & relaxing although mum refused to get off the seat whilst it was cruising in case she fell in - I thought she was very brave considering she hates the water.

At this point I would like to say a big thank you to the girls who treated us to this day - it was definately special & will not be forgotten!

Also - thanks mum for a great 3 week holiday, it really was the best time! I'm sure you will entertain everyone with stories of all the sights we have seen, especially how many people they can carry on motorbikes - I saw a classic one today, one fella riding his bike with two dogs as passengers, not strapped on or anything & they were quite happy just sitting there having a lift!




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Weight trainingWeight training
Weight training

Just proving they are strong!


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb