Why does it always rain on me???


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
October 12th 2006
Published: November 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The show last night was ok. It was like a massive theme park outside with games, rides and souvenir shops. I’d chosen to do the all inclusive deal with a buffet, and boy did I feel like Billy no mates! Actually I started feeling like that when I got on the bus and there were three other couples already on. So I sat down at the end of a long table (after being asked at every stage if it was just a ticket for one?????) all on my own and ordered a carafe of wine to drown in. just after I’d finished my first course of salad and soup a couple that had been on the boat trip yesterday sat down opposite me. More of a coincidence than it seems as you are allocated your dinner table place and theatre seat on arrival at the ticket office. So it worked out better than I’d expected as at least I had someone to talk to during dinner. They have travelled all over too, mainly on cruises, so it was good to chat to them about places they had stayed and recommended. Don’t think I’d fancy going on a cruise by myself. The show started off really well with some traditional Thai dancing and some amazing trapeze artists, I could have watched them all night. But then they started bringing the animals out. I’d prepared myself for some elephants as I’d seen those in the advertisements, but they were just using animals unnecessarily. They had one scene of the story where they paraded 4 cows across the stage, a tiger in a cage and on a lead, chickens running/sliding across, goats and a buffalo. All they did was run across the stage once yet these poor animals will be kept in cages all the time just for that. Some of the elephants looked really young too.
I had to be up at 6.30 for a 7am pick up to go to the Phi Phi group of islands. And. Guess. What? IT WAS RAINING. Very, very heavily. But I still had to get up and check if the tour company had left me a message to say that it was cancelled. They hadn’t but when the driver turned up he said to phone and cancel because it wouldn’t be worth going and the sea would be too rough. I didn’t hesitate as I don’t relish the thought of snorkelling and diving in the rain. Reception phoned the tour company who said it was no problem, they understood and would give me a refund. The receptionist at the hotel told me that they also offer the same trip tomorrow that leaves an hour later from a nearer beach rather than the marina, so I’ve booked that and fingers crossed that the weather is ok. I then went back to my villa, still not tired of saying that, and read the paper - The Bangkok News. Not sure whether that is such a good idea as the headlines are all about flooding in Chiang Mai and Bangkok, which are where I am heading next of course. I think I’ve brought the English weather with me, and it’s probably an Indian summer at home. I’ll definitely have to buy some fake tan! I fall asleep for a couple of hours whilst I’m reading the papers. Then have lunch and as the weathers brightened up I change into my swimmies and put sun cream on. About 5 minutes after sitting down on a sun lounger it starts to rain. Jinxed!
In the afternoon I was pretty bored. There wasn’t much point in going anywhere; there isn’t much to do in Phuket if it’s not sunny. So I read the papers some more and did the crosswords and scrabble. Then I think “to hell with it” and order a carafe of wine (at least it’s not a bottle). It goes down very well indeed.
That night I have dinner in the restaurant then think that I’ll go into the bar, as I haven’t been in yet. I’ve also got a voucher for a free cocktail! When I get there I’m the only one in. They have a house band that are playing, who are really good - I’ve heard them from a distance all week. So I listen.And I applaud.Then realise that I have no way out of here. I’m the only one; I can’t get up and walk out when they’re playing just to me. Might as well have another drink!
When the band break for a while one of them comes over to chat to me. He’s a French Algerian called Mr. Camel. We start off talking in French, but he’s a bit too impressed by my early efforts and is soon let down by my ability to carry a conversation beyond “hello, how are you? I’m fine, and you? I’m from….my name is..And the usual school French. My accent must be really good as I always get that reaction - initial babbling at me in French then a disappointed look when I can’t maintain my early promise! As usual talk turns as to why I’m by myself and we start talking about travelling. It turns out that he has spent quite a bit of time travelling in India and has lots of “friends” there. He says he will put me in touch with them. Eventually I escape….I mean go to bed…after the bartender brings me my tab. He’s obviously had enough!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb