Flying...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
March 18th 2014
Published: March 22nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

So after a 6 hour mission up to Auckland….traffic, I finally made it to Auckland for an afternoon of cuddles with my gorgeous nephew Fletcher and a good catch up with the Steve and Michal-Louise. I also have the best brother in the world for getting up at 4am and driving me to the airport for my ‘why do they have to fly so stupidly early’ flight. Flying with Qantas, I was stoked to finally have no issues with luggage allowance and managed to take all my own stuff and the donations with no problems, yay!

All flights connected like a dream and in the end I spent a total of about half an hour on Australian soil before boarding the next flight to Bangkok, and caused my own delay in Bangkok due to a forgotten pair of scissors which are now the weapon of choice to take over a plane with and so I had to hand them over.

Flying over Australia for 5 hours really made me realise how large that continent actually is (just like you said Mum) and when we finally left it behind, island hopping from the sky was a pretty sight. 9 hours in a plane is quite a stretch, but I reckon the airline have got this down pat, cos just when you are about to go insane from cabin fever….they hand out ice cream! Winning right there Qantas, well done J

My flight from Bangkok to Krabi was the last one for the day, which I seemed to keep re-living and it was a stunner. Timed perfectly with the sunset, I was literally lost for words at times. Cruising above the fluffy white clouds, the plane bathed in the most magical orange and pink glow was the most gorgeous welcome to Thailand. It was very calming.. the most tranquil soft hues of ocean blue are blending gently with the ever on going sky, touched by a pink/purple blaze. I hope this is setting the scene for the next few months; I really want this to work and be an experience of a lifetime.



Not long after the sunset I am treated to the full bright orange moon rising slowly out of an inky horizon, could it be any more tranquil? There is definitely something special about being up here in the sky, flying, feeling free. These are the moments that need to be remembered in life, the ones that take us back to basics, to nature, the ones that take our breath away.

Advertisement



22nd March 2014

Beautifully written. You could always become a writer one day xx

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb