You say goodbye, I say sawasdee...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
February 22nd 2011
Published: February 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hostess with the mostessHostess with the mostessHostess with the mostess

First night BKK- Kaosarn Road
Hello/sawasdee from Thailand! I hope this finds you all well, and I want to take this opportunity to express my gratitude for the love and support you continuously provide. I'm writing to share my experiences and ask for your comments and help making sense of it all. I'm not sure where I'm headed, but I know it will be a smoother journey with your input and encouragement. As I learned today in teacher training, "Birds can fly because they think they can."

After a warm, fun welcome in Bangkok with my friend Jenisa (pics attached), I settled into Krabi on Sunday Feb 20. For the next month I'll be living with my host mom, Pi Nong (a muslim woman from Bangkok), her two teenage sons (they don't speak English), and 3 other volunteers for Projects Abroad (my roommate, Cecilia from France, Julie from Denmark and Tanja from Germany- pic attached). Krabi is a small and poor town 1 hr south of Bangkok, but it gets many tourists for it's amazing beaches and diving (pics attached). I hope to get my first dive in with the conservation volunteers Friday!

I'm very happy with my accommodations and decision to take some time off and volunteer, and I'm slowly learning to enjoy the bathroom situation... cold showers (no hot water, but it's incredibly hot and humid here) and flush-less toilets (we pour water in with a bowl- pics attached). The food here, however, makes up for it, and Pi Nong's cooking is dangerously delicious. Hopefully I'll return with some Thai cooking techniques in my toolbox.

I've enjoyed meeting these wonderful people from around the world and learning about their schools and teaching experiences (pics attached). Looking forward to starting my teaching assignment on Thursday! I'll be teaching 2-4 English lessons every day to 7-12 year olds in a public school. And in the afternoons and weekends I'll be exploring South Thailand! I hope this context helps, but in the future I'd like to share more pictures than words. Thanks for reading, and feel free to email any time or call/text me at (+(001) 66 800777843). Lots of love xo




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

River residencesRiver residences
River residences

Boat ride down the river with temples, houses of all shapes and sizes, and many people swimming and smiling
Big BuddahBig Buddah
Big Buddah

Watching over BKK
Labua Hotel Labua Hotel
Labua Hotel

The view from Sirocco bar
Noodles for brekkie? Bring on the bowlsNoodles for brekkie? Bring on the bowls
Noodles for brekkie? Bring on the bowls

Most amazing spot in Jenisa's town... J taught me to order Senlek w/ Mo...bowls of heaven...
En route to Krabi!En route to Krabi!
En route to Krabi!

Patrick our driver for Projects Abroad who takes us to and from school
Our housematesOur housemates
Our housemates

Tanja, Pi Nong, Cecilia and Julie
Our roomOur room
Our room

My totally awesome twin bed on the left, a sleeping roomie on the right and two fans surrounding us and saving our sanity
Our bathroomOur bathroom
Our bathroom

...slowly getting warmer... my feelings about this situation and not the water obviously...
Krabi night marketKrabi night market
Krabi night market

First night... perfect time for weekend markets with some of the volunteers
Induction!Induction!
Induction!

Ruang shows us the map of Krabi before introducing us to the program and our new home
Krabi pierKrabi pier
Krabi pier

Where James Bond was filmed (the one w/ Pierce B.) and where I'll be heading out to many surrounding islands
Krabi intersectionKrabi intersection
Krabi intersection

Most interesting stop lights I've seen yet...
Krabi Buddhist TempleKrabi Buddhist Temple
Krabi Buddhist Temple

Just down the road
Ao Nang beachAo Nang beach
Ao Nang beach

Beach stroll after induction
The inductedThe inducted
The inducted

Sophie and I celebrate with a stroll before the rain rolls in and completely soaks us
Krabi rainKrabi rain
Krabi rain

...no umbrella or poncho can handle this...
Julie & her kids!Julie & her kids!
Julie & her kids!

Working the camera... loving the peace signs
Stephanie & her kids!Stephanie & her kids!
Stephanie & her kids!

Their expressions were even cuter when they saw themselves on camera!


22nd February 2011

hoffken@gmail.com
Hi what inspired to do this? Love to hear! Vicki
22nd February 2011

hello
Hi Laura! So happy to hear that you have started your new adventure. I can't believe you are already on the other side of the world. The pictures are great . I specially loved the pictures of the kids. I think many people will be jealous of your decision to do something so interesting and fulfilling. All the best! Annie Togni
23rd February 2011
Our room

It's like you are at camp!
I love this!
23rd February 2011

Intl Community Service Camp
...it really is! Only we do a bus load of community service, it's always free play, and we can eat at whatever canteen whenever we want ;-) Great observation!
23rd February 2011

Thanks, Annie!
So good to hear from you. I do feel extremely lucky to experience Thai culture while helping the community and people... very different from the backpacking that I'm used to! I know it's unrealistic for many people, yet those who want to and can really should! Projects Abroad has some locations with 2 week projects too...maybe you and your hubby could do it?! They are in serious need of volunteers of all types and so, so appreciative... helps when negotiating too ;-) Please keep me posted on shenanigans at the fort! xo
23rd February 2011

My inspiration...
Hi Aunt Vicki! My work trip to Malaysia for the FBI-NAA APAC Conference in early 2010 definitely stirred things up for me both personally and professionally. The connection between global education and security became even more apparent, and I quickly wanted to learn more about public education systems around the world. I started researching graduate programs in International Education when I returned to the states. Thanks for your question!
16th March 2011

beautiful pix
What a fantastic beginning. Hope you had time to visit Phuket, Chiang Mai and Bangkok. It was one of my favorite trips.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0789s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb