Krabi


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
May 15th 2009
Published: May 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After coming back from my boat trip and the rain I wondered if I should have an early night, as I knew I'd have to move on today, or should go out again after getting some supper. I decided to go out and walked down to Jordan's Irish Pub where was lured in by the offer of free shots and watched a bit of football on their television, while I drank a mojito. It wasn't so nice as the mojitos at Carlito's the other day but it refreshed me.

Then I decided to move onto the Reggae Bar, wondering if the two Canadians might be there. They weren't but there was a Thai boxing ring with a fight going on. And a notice saying that if you watched the fight you had to buy a drink. I didn't want to break any rules so when a waitress brought me a card with some choices on it I chose a Phi Phi Paradise, a drink I had never previously heard of. It is apparently made from Apricot Brandy, Orange Curacao, Bacardi, Sang Som, orange and pj. I'm hoping that "pj" means pineapple juice and not pyjamas. Sang Som - I just
Free Buckets!!!Free Buckets!!!Free Buckets!!!

I was tempted . .
looked this up in Wikipedia - is a Thai brand of rum.

It tasted very pleasant, but didn't refresh me so much as mojitos do.

The first fight I watched was between a Thai fighter and a European volunteer, fighting to win a bucket of drink. It seems odd to buy and drink liquor by the bucketful but, in fact, I later worked out that I would have saved money had I bought a bucket myself.

The fight was not very skilful and the tourist did not have any of the Thai finesse at boxing, relying on his superior height and weight and hardly using his feet, knees or elbows at all.

After that fight there was no volunteer and, after a while, they had to put up two Thai boxers together. A waitress noticed that my glass was empty and I decided to go back to mojitos. It was really nice and cold and refreshing, so I ordered another one.

The final fight I watched was between two tourists who had both volunteered and was a realy good all out fight that ended in a draw. So it really was Tie Boxing.

It was about midnight by now and I was walking back when the girls outside Jordan's told me that another wet T shirt competition was about to start - I think they must have them every night. I had never seen one before and was expecting the competion to be between rival designers of T shirts (that's my story and I'm sticking to it).

Imagine my surprise when, to the contrary, it turned out to be a sort of meld between a beauty contest and a pole dancing show involving good looking young women cavorting around the square bar (like in Cheers - the bar that is, not the cavorting).

It was all done in the best possible tast with teh MC frequently leading a chant of "Get yer tits out, get yer tits out, get yer tits out right away." All the women seemed to really enjoy it and, while most did get their tits out, some just danced around enjoying themselves without showing any extra flesh. The winner, however, was not amongst these. She came from Australia and was perfectly happy to dance around with her boobs on display.

It was very hot ion the bar
Abstract art?Abstract art?Abstract art?

This was taken at teh Wet T shirt comp at Jordans but I have no idea what's going on - I thought it looked good though
and I had to have another couple of mojitos. Surprisingly, they tasted much better than the one I'd had there earlier in the evening.

By half past one the competition was over and I was beginning to feel comfortably numb, so I went back to the bungalow.

For some reason I had trouble taking my contact lenses out and in the end I decided to go to sleep wearing them, although I knew this was said to be unwise.

I slept soundly and awoke at 8 to pack my bags and tidy the room. I was away by 9 and had breakfast at a small cafe near the pier before getting my ticket for the Krabi boat that left at 10.30.

The trip took just over an hour and a half and by half past twelve I was in my room at the Thai Hotel in central Krabi Town. I'm due to meet with the GVI organisers and the other volunteers in the lobby there tomorow. Quite likely some of the other volunteers may be staying at the same place but I haven't met any yet. I finally took my contacts out. They came out almost first time. I can't imagine what the problem could have been last night - maybe I was just tired . .

I've walked around Krabi (not all that much to see - highlights posted here) and had some lunch. It was very hard trying to find my way about with the help of the small map in the book. The problem is that to read the map I need reading glasses, but as I walk in the street I can't wear them or my vision becomes all blurry - like my pictures at the t shirt comp. So I put them on and take them off. And then there are other things as well - I need the glasses to get money from ATMs. to read a menu, to look at papers shoved into my hand, but have to take them off as soon as I can once I've done whatever I'm doing. It's very provoking. The glasses were on again and then off again as often as a whore's knickers in a brothel, as the saying goes. I hope my new glasses are waiting for me tomorrow.

One benefit, though, is at the barbers! I had my hair cut for the first time since leaving England and it was amazing to be able to se my face in the mirror and to be able to see what was happening. I can't remember ever having done that before, though I expect I must have as a child before I first wore glasses at six or seven.

Now I will go back to the hotel for a rest before going out to supper. I think I'll have an earlier night though - unless I come across another bar advertising wet T shirts, of course.

Tomorrow the next phase of my wanderings begins - I'll try to keep the blog going, but I will be working for the next month remember.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Eagle sculpture in KrabiEagle sculpture in Krabi
Eagle sculpture in Krabi

Symbolising the need for self reliance
More oddly shaped rocksMore oddly shaped rocks
More oddly shaped rocks

Krabi has funny looking rocks as well
Krabi traffic lightsKrabi traffic lights
Krabi traffic lights

For some reason the traffic lights here are surmountrd by statues of neolithic men. The number of seconds left till they change is a good idea though


15th May 2009

Reggae Bar
I fought in that ring! 1 win by technical knockout and one loss by knockout!!! BOOOM! and I got my free buckets..

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb