I am a fish whisperer


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
April 26th 2009
Published: April 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Beautiful!Beautiful!Beautiful!

One of the brilliant beaches!
Yesterday and today were great days. But first, last I updated, while I was using the internet, I had seriously itchy ankles from bug bites and ofcourse I had been scratching them. When I got back to our guesthouse, I took off my shoes and jeans and my entire foot was covered with blood. How did I not notice that? Weird. anyways....

Yesterday, we (Liz, Catriona and I) went on a 4 island longtail boat/snorkeling tour. It was amazing. The water was crystal clear and we visited some beautiful beaches. the snorkeling wasn't the greatest for some reason (there wasn't a huge variety of fish and the coral was mostly dead), but the rock formations and beaches made up for it. And the mango. and the icecream that we got when we begged the truck driver to stop on our way home. Such a good day!

Today we decided to go rock climbing because Krabi is meant to have the best rock climbing in the world, so where better to start, right? We got picked up in the morning, brought to the dock and then had to take a boat to the beach where we would be climbing. I
FishFishFish

crazy!
have only done very little climbing in my life (mostly only abseiling which is the descending part...much easier!)
so I was pretty excited to learn! We began on a small rock which began on the beach. We all made it to the top and so we were ready for the big ones! We went up this completely insane one where we all did pretty well at the start but continuously got stuck in this one spot. I would get up there and just could not figure out where to go and then would just get so so so tired that after a few attempts, had to go back down. We each then decided we needed to try again becuase we were not going to let the cliff defeat us. Next time...success! We were then ready to move onto the next one. Oh yeah and there was a group of experienced rock climbers nearby who got a kick out of our mouths...rock climbing turned me into a complete potty mouth and the F bomb was dropped quite a lot. oops.

We then went to an even more difficult one that we had to ascend from the water...it was awesome! This
BeachesBeachesBeaches

love it!
one started out not to difficult but was crazy at parts. you ended up in a hole that you had to climb out of and there was absolutely nothing to grip onto. I ended up losing my grip and slamming my back into the rocks. Oh and I hit my head twice! But I actually ended up getting more injured while trying to take a picture of one of my friends climbing (kinda like when I wiped out in the parking lot after skiing when I hadn't fallen all day when I skiied for the first time in 10 years!). I got my foot caught on a rock in the water and ripped off a chunk of it. I can't really walk on it now...but I did decide to go rock climbing again tomorrow!! Need to further my skills and I am addicted! Can't wait! Although I am a little concerned about how sore my hands and forearms are going to be when I wake up. I am counting on the DOMS not to kick in until the next day!! And luckily massages are so cheap!!

Alright, I gotta get to sleep because I am so knackered....more later!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Rock climbingRock climbing
Rock climbing

Awesome!!


28th April 2009

Be careful!!
We all want you home in one piece, my dear!! Be careful---stop banging your head on rocks, that is no good! And also stop donating your skin and blood to all these places!! At least not to the sand, street, and rocks!! :) Sounds like you are having a great time! Keep it up!!
28th April 2009

ro ro rock climbers rule
that so sad about the coral reefs being dead! as the water temp rises around the world just a few degrees here and there those reefs are going going gonzo... glad ou got to do the up part of rock climbing. the down is always easy except for the sudden stop at the end of the ride keep your arms and legs inside at all times por fa vor... well now that you are experienced i'll belay you whenever you like and we can climb the world together as monkey people eating banana the shit is bananas b a n a n a a n a n a n a n a n i d o n t k n o w w h e n t o s t o p s p e l l i n g s h i t o u t ! ok i brought it back tight but not to tight cause that wouldlooklikethisandthatshitiswaytotight so free it up and space bar that but not to many times. what are you doing writing on my face book about your chips your just guilty that you washed those chippers down with some carne asada tacos and a beer!! mmmm thats good living veggie head.. you look good traveling definately looks good on you. enjoy your rock climbing and no rock falling................ love me you lukas

Tot: 0.389s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.3456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb