Peaches and Cream


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
July 15th 2007
Published: July 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

internet cafe cutieinternet cafe cutieinternet cafe cutie

Every time I sit in the internet cafe I am entertained by the owner's son. What a little booga boo.
Hi Everyone! (or in Thai- Saw wa dee ka!)

I am currently sitting in an internet shop, about a mile from my Global Vision International base in Ao Luk (in the larger city of Krabi). We literally are in the middle of a small village town. I am very far from everything considering I have no form of transportation besides my tired little feet. It is about a mile and a half walk to the school I teach in, and about two miles into the nearest market area. It wouldn't be that bad if the humidity wasn't 100 percent everyday.

It amazes me how some of the native Thais in the area have never seen foreigners before, besides what they might see in some form of their media. Once a Thai spots us the word travels quickly and others come to watch us and see what we are like. Fascinating and exciting how is depends on us to help shape their opinions of the people from other parts of the world.

We aren't as close to the beach as I thought we were going to be- about 20 miles away. Yesturday we took a day trip to Raleigh Beach in Ao Nang. We had to take a 30 minute boat ride (powered by a recycled car engine) to the island for that is the only way to get there. It was absolutely breathtaking (if you are into rock mountains anyways). I felt the entire landscape had the potential of being an enormous playground. I just wanted to climb every rock surface I encountered. We also discovered where all the tourists stayed. That was the only downfall to the beach; we were surrounded by people who were familiar to us. I was expecting many more natives.

I begin my volunteer teaching on Tuesday (Monday is an observation time for us). I am nervous. I also discovered there were many more adults in the classes than we thought there was going to be. I came with the notion that I would be teaching mostly children, but it is the exact opposite. In fact, we don't teach anyone younger than 13 years old. A little disappointing to me, but no big deal; I want to help in any way possible.

The food is delicious. There were only two things in this entire week that I tried that I couldn't stand the taste of. There is a fruit called "Dorri-an" and it stinks like garbage. The natives in the area love to bring us fruit as presents so I couldn't turn down tasting it. Needless to say, I wanted to puke in that moment. I just held it back, swallowed the hellish thing, and smiled. "Mmmmm. Good," I replied.

The natives in the area are very respectful of us, and welcome us with open arms to teach them. All of our six classes (consisting of 30 students in each) filled up within the week. The amazing part is they are all level 1 English classes. GVI teaches up to a level 6. That just shows how high the need is for these classes in the area. I haven't met one person yet that could say more than a few phrases in English. Most of the adults taking the English classes are police, Thai teachers and business owners.

What I like about our presence is that we don't have the idea that the western world is better. We are not trying to change their ways, but simply improve their existing means. I have come to find that they really do make the most of what they have already. Once something breaks or needs repairing they simply turn it into something else. For instance, the grill that we have on base was constructed by a local mechanic and consists of a large oil barrel that was cut in half. The actual area you put the meat on is old metal filter frames and the chain which allows it to open and close is off a motorcycle.

I feel like we have a lot to learn from them as well. It is a unique exchange.

Well that is all for now. I will write more after teaching a week of classes. You can pretty much guarantee a new entry every weekend.

I am thinking of you all...........

~Vanessa




Advertisement



15th July 2007

Thank you for the news from Thailand! I've been thinking of you and wondering how it's all going!! We miss ya Vaness. Keep up the good work. xoxo, Linds
15th July 2007

Hey Sugaplum
Wish I could be there with you to see all of these things!!! Sounds awesome! Good luck teaching next week....you'll be the best teacher!!! love you, Cynnie
16th July 2007

Keep up the good work. Bud

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb