Koh Phi Phi


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
February 22nd 2012
Published: February 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Final night in Phucket turned out to be an awesome night.....most likely our best night so far. A woman advertng some show got us to follow her into a bar, we thought we'd go as she said the show was free and we just go and see if we like it. We walked throuh this big bar made up of all smaller bars. The woman was taking us right the way to the back. When it appeared she was going to take us into a separate room we decided not to follow, as it seemed pretty dodgy! We went back towards the front and saw a bar with all Welsh flags and Welsh rubgy and football jerseys so we deciced to stop here. The owner was Welsh from Rhondda and was very friendly. We met some Australian guys at the bar and played connect 4 and jenga with them. I was almost unbeatable at connect 4 and got a free shot every time I won!!! They also did this thing where they rag a bell and gave out free shots! I ended up with a total of at least 8 free shots and I even did Tequilla!!! With the full salt and lime thing!! I however was awful at Jenga! But luckily the guys didn't make me buy them shots or I would have spent a fortune!!! One of the guys did however decided to place a bet that if I lost again I would have to kiss him! He was pretty good looking and really nice so I decided to agree to the bet....and lost! Ha!! Saw loads of lady boys tonight, couldn't help but stare! They are so obvious once you spot them! Yet I have no idea where they hide it!!

We left Phucket on Monday morning and travelled to Koh Phi Phi....the island is not at all what I expected. It was supposed to be very peaceful and quiet but it is not at all...at least not our part! There are lots of shops and bars and food places as well as many pancake bars. We had to climb up a really steep hill to get to our resort and our room is one of the highest up the moutain! It is absolute killer getting up to it, so we have been trying not to return to the room too often in the day. The room is made of bamboo and probably the worst we have had so far, it feels very...rustic! There was a storm Monday night, but luckily not too much water came in, and mostly just in the bathroom.

Spent the day on the beach on Tuesday. Managed to get a pancake (on pancake day!) for very cheap and watched fire shows on the beach at night. All the beach bars have a great atmosphere and the shows are so good! I don't know how all the guys aren't covered in burns though!!

Today (Wednesday) we went on a trip round the island on a long tail boat. We went snorkeling at many different sites, stopped off at a beach for lunch and sun bathing, it was so hot! We also went to a place called monkey beach, where there were actually monkeys all over the rocks. There were tiny baby ones clinging to their mothers bellies and a big male one that was clearly in charge. The monekys ran at and bared their teeth at some of the people that got too close! It has been a very long and tiring day and in the end I couldn't wait to get back on land. I kept falling asleep on the boat between stops and really needed some shade. I burnt badly today as the water kept washing off my suncream.

This evening I ordered Pad Thai (noodles with vegetables) and after eating a bit, I discovered that it had chicken in it!! I sent it back and ended up sharing Anwen's pizza! A man on the street had a gibbon, I stopped to look at it and he put him oon my arm! I was scared he would claw my sun burn and I knew I would get charged for a photo so I gave it back! But for a brief moment I actuallly held a gibbon!!! We both bought ourselves new t shirts tonight, we managed to barter the price down all the way to 420 for the two of them when they were meant to be 550!! :D

Going to Krabi tomorrow, it will be our last stop in Thailand, so only 3 days till Malaysia now!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb