Ko Phi Phi - Fire shows and boxing matches


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
November 22nd 2008
Published: November 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ko Phi Phi - Fire shows and boxing matches

I woke up feeling A LOT better and head out to the little Britain cafe a place that imported sausages and bacon, served Heinz baked beans and PG tips - of and played all episodes of family guy while you tucked into gut buster breakfasts. After a day of lounging round and doing nothing we prepared to go out for dinner. We found a mexican restaurant that served salad with the main meal - which was probably the first salad I had had in Thailand. I was actually excited!

With a new lease of life we head down to some of the bars and sampled some of the many cocktails avalible to us. We ended up in Hippies bar which is situated at the end of the beach and is lit by many little lanterns and candles. We were told that there were live fire shows later that evening so we parked up and got front row seats - and table service!
The atmosphere was great and the cocktails were awesome. We chatted to the Thai waiters who were only a couple of inches taller than me! A guy called Toni told me that he was in the fire show and then proceeded to show us a number of magic tricks - which I (in my drunken state) found totally hypnotic and asked to see them again and again.
We played a few games of pool - badly and then also a couple of games of shithead. I found the toilets in the bar absolutely hilarious, they were the standard pee in a hole type loos but you had to climb up three steps to get to the loo and then hover over them and try to aim your pee in the hole provided. Not such an easy task in a long skirt and armed with a few singapore slings!

We sat down and watched the fire show which was amazing. I always think Poi Artists are brilliant but am especially impressed when people are twirling fire around. The artists ranged from sticks with fire on the end or chains with fire on the end. They twirled them round and round and threw them in the air. Some were brilliant and others came very close to setting themselves alight - which I thought was hilarious. There was one point when a fire chain went flying and hit a plastic chair - unfortunately the chair did not catch fire... I was kind of hoping for a mini inferno....

Needless to say our nights in Phi Phi revolved around food and drink and our days were generally spent recovering and lazing around. It was just what I needed towards the end of my trip. I felt as though I had stopped travelling for a bit and wad on a bit of a relaxing holiday.

On our last night in Ko Phi Phi we went to our favourite french restaurant where I had the most enormous meal you could possibily imagine. I was very excited and orded some red wine but was a bit angry when it came to me chilled... hey the food was good though! Duck and Mango followed by an apple pancake and a massive cocktail in a pineapple.
We head off to one of the main bar/clubs which was holding Thai boxing matches that evening. There was a mix of "proffesional boxing" and audience participation. I decided that the best fights were when lads from the audience got up. Mainly because they all thought that they were macho and hard and ended up getting a beating. I spent a lot of time shouting at lads telling them that they fought like a girl and to punch him in the face. We all got very into the matches - well everyone bar Kirsty ha ha ha.
The atmosphere was great and the bar was packed. We had ringside seats and I got a lot of footage. At one point a proffessional fighter knocked his opponent in the face and over the ring. We had a Thai Boxer literally fall into our laps - which after a couple of buckets was hilarious!
I was surprised to see a couple of girls get up and fight and did admitedly consider getting up myself but then I remembered how long it took for the black eye that I acquired from my bungey jump to go down and I decided that I was better off as a spectator!.

We rolled back to our hotel and drunkenly packed our bags in anticipation for our ferry the next morning to Phuket.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0854s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb