Full Moon Madness


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
June 11th 2006
Published: June 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The crewThe crewThe crew

Note te seatbelts
G’day. This is Craig, Darren’s travel partner in crime. Darren has given me the opportunity to report on the Fullmoon Party. I was kinda surprised that Darren asked me to write this part of the trip, as I have very little recollection of what actually happened. After looking at the photos and speaking to a few people who were there, mixed with I few flashbacks of my own I will try and piece the night together.

It all began with pre drinks with the gang which had formed at our Hotel in the days leading up to full moon. Once the sun had set and moon had begun to rise we gathered to venture in the back of a ute to other side of the island. 5 minutes later, as we piled out of the ute we were welcomed by the throbbing dance music which lured us to the beach. To get there we strolled through streets lined with vendors selling Thailand’s traditional drink, The Bucket.

There are a number of variants of the bucket, but in essence it is a 375 ml bottle of alcohol. Most commonly this was Samsung Rum,Whisky or Smirnoff Vodka. This was accompanied by ice, many, many straws for you and your friends and a couple of mixers of your choice, including Redbull, Lemonade, Coke and Shark which is an invigorating drink that is preferred by the locals to Redbull. These buckets also come in Jumbo Size.

Equipped with buckets we set for the beach. As we drew closer and closer the music became louder and louder until you could feel it entering your veins. Your walk broke into Dance as the pounding beats of the DJ’s took over.

At this stage every one was separated into smaller groups, even though we were trying to stay together. This become a regular occurrence during the night. As one bucket became 3, I was having trouble keeping track of my self let alone anyone else. I found myself alone.

As I penetrated the crowds of dancers I found myself at the waters edge, I looked back at the beach. All along the beach were different bars, with different DJ’s all pumping out their various stylings. Each DJ was complimented by the different style of dancing he was attracting and extracting from his dance floor. Fluro paint, and glo sticks were all the rage amongst the Full Moon revellers.

To my right sat Mellow Mountain. A bar on the hillface famous for its Mushroom shakes which are said to have a hallucinogenic, acid like affect. Its warm ambient glow now beckoned me. I headed to Mellow Mountain to seek new friends. As I climbed up the wooden staircase the energised vibe from the beach was replaced with a daze, although the atmosphere was very chilled, some agility was required as it was necessary to step over crashed out bodies to get to the bar. Had a quick look around and evacuated back to the beach wanting to maintain a certain level of hype.

The Chameleon of dance that I am I worked my way from DJ to DJ, adapting my diverse dance repertoire as required. I built boxes and waved my hands in the air like I just didn’t care, I did the shopping, busted out the sprinkler and for a short period of time was a robot.

Reunited at last, I found the gang dancing up a storm in front of one of the DJ’s. The rest of the night is kind of a blur, but I have been assured that we danced the night away together, covering ourselves and each other in body paint. Everybody had had a great night although we didn’t party till dawn and all the next day quite like we had planned. I highly recommend this experience to anybody who has a bit of party left in them. I’m definitely going to give it another crack.






Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

KatKat
Kat

Do I look sexy?
Who's the manWho's the man
Who's the man

Hello ladies


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb