Day 5/ Koh Phangan


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
June 11th 2011
Published: June 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today we decided we was going to hire out a jeep and tour the islands waterfalls and the island of Ko Mao. The first waterfall we visited was all of 5 minutes from our bungalows and was amazing to climb around and even had a stray dog to trek around with. (dog and me on waterfall) The rest of the waterfalls in this area were pretty samey and the further up we went the slower they were becoming. Then we tried to find some gasoline which took a while then got lost down a road that was falling into the river. (picture)
Next we went to the next set of waterfalls that was recommended to us which as we got there we realised was a national park. We started climbing the ever worsening trail as we realised flip flops were not the best option to climb a mountain in!!! The waterfalls were amazing and we took a detour to a viewpoint at the top of on of the peaks (picture of view) then we got extremely lost for about 1 hour and it started to rain but we thought it might get as heavy as it did the day before so decided we would follow the waterfall down until we found a trail, me and Calum fell down a steep rock and I was amazed I didn't get hurt! Although my feet now hurt and I have a cut on the bottom of my big toe 😞 the rest of the trip was enjoyable and ended up finding a tesco lotus where we bought some supplies for our room and I got a zapper to kill the flys that plague the beach at night! Just in bed now after a successful night of killing bugs on our porch, I fashioned a bug light by stringing up the zapper next to the outside light which worked for 15 minutes until the battery's died. Going to go bed now and hope ross's snoring doesn't keep me up!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb