Creatures in the night!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
March 26th 2006
Published: March 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The lip!The lip!The lip!

Luckily the swellings gone down in this shot!
Hi Guys,

So we arrived in Ko Pha Ngan and were whisked away by cab to our reserved and quiet resort, basically we were the only ones there. We decided a bike was the only option in order to explore the island in four days. Famous for its snorkeling we decided to head north to Haad Son a beautiful beach.

Will did a bit more snorkeling than me whilst I soaked up the sun. He saw a beautiful school of large multi-coloured fish and automatically came back to find me. Little did I know to get there I had to cross a shallow coral bed complete with spiky poisonous sea urchins, I think I almost died of a panic attack I got scratched to pieces and kept on getting flash backs from jaws movies. I managed to see a few fish but really just wanted to get back to the beach.

When we got back to our resort thats when the fun all began. Will had got burn't like a lobster from Snorkeling, back, legs you name it! Lets just say that evening was a quiet one and for some reason I had this weird burning sensation on my lip, we hit the hay early that night, but sadly got rudely awoken and the madness began.

Not many people know this but when I was a kid I had a weird obsession every night before I would go to bed, I would pull back the covers and check for spiders, I think this obsession grew from me and Pete watching Aracnophobia when we were far to young but I grew out of it.

At about 1am Will woke me up saying something had crawled over his face I immediantly jumped out of bed and pulled back the sheets, it wasn't a spider but a giant cockroach. After a long chase Will managed to kill it and we tried to go back to sleep.

The next morning when I woke up I looked in the mirror and was shocked by what I saw, my bottom lip had turned into a balloon literally four times it's size. We decided to go to the Hospital and I'm now dosed up on three types of pills, mum you're be pleased to hear the swellings going down. will's not so pleased as he thought it made me look more like Angelina Jolie! It was either a food allergy or an insect bite.

Anyway Koh Pha Ngan is beautiful and we plan to visit more beautiful beaches tomorrow. Needless to say I will be checking the bed tonight!




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



27th March 2006

Keep on having fun
L am enjoying you tales. Your Dad was made to wear a T-shirt when snorkling Will. He did not burn so much !!!! I sympathise with your probs, walking on Coral. Painful. Gumpy always knocked his shoes out before putting them on. !!! Good advice !!!! Take care have fun LOL (!!!?) Torty
28th March 2006

Mum
Looks fantastic -just my sort of place. All well here, hectic as always LOL Mumxx
2nd April 2006

Sounds like you guys are having lots of adventures....
Hi Guys! It seems like you are having lots of adventures out there - being conned, gettting sun burned, Clare's lip. I hope you are having loads of fun as well!!! Remember - if you see any monkeys run in the opposite direction.... Loads of love, Zoe

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0905s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb