Merry Christmas for tomorrow xxx


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
December 24th 2009
Published: December 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Friday 18th. Having to write that down as the days are all beginning to merge into one. I have no clue what i done on Friday although I do remember that Valkyrie was on telly when I got in so couldn’t have been too mad. Oh yes, I remember I left my bike at the hotel and walked into town, was planning on getting something to eat and couldn’t decide what I fancy. Sometimes, all you really want is a McDonalds for convenience. Bought some fried chicken from the food market which was nice, but not all that. Went down to Chequered Flag and fed the bones to Fang. Decided to try out the Harp Bar down the road so went down and met Chris in there. I’ve decided that he is the annoying little brother I never had. He spent half the time flicking my arm and only stopped when I punched him (hehe). He then wandered off drunk somewhere. Alex came in for a while then went back to Thai Coffee, then Gerard turned up and we sat chatting to Pete from Belfast. Had a couple of baby guinesses that actually made me feel a little festive for the first time, then Gerard went off to find Alex and Pete and I continued gassing and putting the world to right. Because I had no bike I walked back to the hotel rather than go on elsewhere. Oh yeah, spent a couple of hours writing my book during the day too.

Woke up yesterday morning and my laptop battery was dead and wouldn’t charge up. Went to Lins and had breakfast then went to Tims as he has the same laptop as me, plugged in his power cable and it started to charge *relief*. I figured there was probably something wrong with the cheap adaptor I bought on Khao San Road. Alex and I then went up to Gerards house where we listened to his friends band. Kila I think they are called, they sing in Gaelic and play Irish music but not completely diddly diddly stuff. It was really nice actually, very chilled out. I could have fallen asleep to be honest. Alex and I then came back into town and I went off to Chinatown to buy a new adaptor. Went back to Thai Coffee and it still didn’t work. So I sloped off to CF to get Tim to charge up my laptop, thinking that it must be my power cable that was faulty. Tim looked at my plug and had another 3 gang adaptor that takes British plugs and when we plugged it in there it worked. We’ve now made the assumption that its the Thai power sockets that aren’t very good.

Marco and Daniel were being quite rowdy and were being a right laugh. Another really drunk guy turned up, think he said he was Norwegian and they were all playing pool together. It was a scream. There was balls flying all over the place and poor Bob who takes his game quite seriously got pissed off, for about a minute and then even he couldn’t help but laugh. It’s been chucking it down with rain the last few days btw which makes me feel less bad about not doing all the tourist stuff. Theres plenty time for that anyway. Once the rain stopped I jumped on the bike and went down to Coco’s. A few more people started turning up and last thing I remember was sitting on the decking looking at the stars and talking a load of shit. Good night though, especially as I got to play my ipod.
Today I was starving as all I’d eaten last night was a hot dog from 7/11. I’m proper addicted to them, don’t even have the bread with them, just get them to cut it up and put it in a bag for me. So I went to A’s for a proper English breakfast. It is Sunday after all. Then went to Lins and myself, Lins kids and their 2 friends and Di, the woman that works there, went back to my hotel to the swimming pool.

The boys spotted a green snake and I didn’t even freak out. It’s those black bastard Cobra’s I’m shitting myself over to be fair. We had a lovely day in the pool, I have a new best friend now in Maya, Lins 5 year old little girl. She’s so cute and very cheeky. Been teaching her English and i swear she’s like a little parrott repeating things back with a Scottish accent. I couldn’t spend too long in the pool as my mangled toe started flapping about and it was making me feel quite ill. So I sat at the edge and threw things for the kids to catch and dive for. Hopefully I’ve caught a bit of sun at last.
Came back into town, paid my bill at Chequered flag, bumped into Alex and now at Coco’s having something to eat and drink. Had to come here as I left my laptop last night because it was so wet I didn’t want to risk it getting soaked. Not sure what I’m doing tonight, probably back into town but we’ll see. For now, just going to enjoy the late afternoon rays at the beach bar. What a life.

Sunday night was amusing as Chris was asleep on the bar when I got there around 5. Every so often he’d wake up, call my name and give me the finger. Proper annoying but quite funny all the same. I rang Alex to see where he was, surprise surprise, Thai coffee . I said I’d go see him but ended up not leaving Coco’s till 10. At that point he’d just left, so I had a quick drink in the Harp and then home.

Monday afternoon came back to the hotel and got my book and sat in the tranquillity of the swimming pool for a while. Then came back to the room and watched a film, read some more and chilled out. Went back to Thai coffee and met Gerard for a while.
I then went out to Cocos which is full of new people that I didn’t know. It was like Sandals as well, full of couples. Eventually the Irish girls came down and they invited me to go to this bar with them. It was down Farang street, next to the tattoo place. I’d never even seen or heard of it before so we exchanged numbers so if I got lost I could ring them. They walked down and I sat with Ad for a while more then rode down to meet them. Bar was really cool, very narrow with loads of hammocks and nice cocktails. However, I was tired and wanted to get up early this morning to go out so I had one drink and came home.

Was planning on getting up and going out today but remembered I promised Gingko I’d help him sort out his skype account so it’s back to Thai Coffee. I swear though, I’m not staying today. Now that I’ve started getting a tan, I’m determined to finish it off.

23rd December

Went into Thai Coffee yesterday but Ginkgo and Alex had gone off somewhere. Sat with Lin for a while and she took me to buy some crabs from a fisherman next door. I’ve seen crabs before but never with such pretty blue claws. One or two of them tried to make a bid for freedom which freaked me out a bit. I asked Lin how she cooked them and she said she fried them. She just cracks them open and rips the meat out and they are still alive *horror*.
I then went for a drive and had I known what the road was like I’d never have done it, literally once I’d turned the corner from my hotel was the steepest hill I’ve ever seen. I almost thought about turning back but thought fuck it and off I went. Well that was just the first of many. It reminded me of the death road that Alice and I went on in Skiathos, very hilly and with loads of twists and turns. Eventually I made it to Haad Yao and stopped in a beachfront cafe, wasn’t very hungry so just had a coke and read my book for a while. Drive back was a bit better but busier so was constantly being overtaken by impatient taxi drivers.

Came back into town and went for a beer in Chequered Flag. Popped back to Thai Coffee just as they were eating lunch, this was no coincidence *grin* and had Papaya Salad, sticky rice, pork, squid on a stick and this mental hot chilli mixture. Lin went off and got Alex some fried chicken, which I wolfed down some of too.

Got there and Emma was having lunch so we sat down and had a nice girlie chat. I let her have a go on my bike as she’d been a bit nervous to try it, so she just went round the gardens a couple of times. It’s kinda nice to have some Girl friends as I’ve been with mainly Men and boys (and big babies) the last few weeks. Dan, Chris and Hugo returned from snorkelling and climbing mountains. Dan is desperate to buy a monkey that picks coconuts and wants someone Thai to go and negotiate a price for him. Basically everyone told him to fuck off except Noodee although I’m sure she’s just too nice to say no, not that she really wants him to buy a monkey. Emma left and was replaced 5 minutes later by Lynn, they must have misssed each other on the way to the room. Afterwards, the boys were heading into town and said they’d be in Jumanjey later if I fancied it. I was all smelly and had sand everywhere so wanted to go get a shower first.

Stopped in town for some food and a quick drink with Gerard. I wanted something healthy but everything is fried. Had some ribs, chicken, mushroom and cashews, then saw a cockroach the size of mouse running about so fled. As I left people were chasing it all round the restaurant. Went home and had a shower then realised I’d forgotten to pick my laundry up so had no clean top to wear. Watched some of a Brazilian film about corrupt cops and then fell asleep. Woke up at 2am and read until 5. Struggled sleeping so feeling a bit tired today.

24th December. Just a quick update from today. Last night was a bit messy, got pissed at Coco’s on JD and Sambuca. Hey, just like a normal Wednesday at home really, except with the sound of the waves lapping on the beach. Felt a bit rough this morning but more to do with the 5am wake up and then falling back to sleep about 8am. Almost finished my book though so not too bad. Went to Lins for some noodle soup and they were all eating these disgusting chicken feet and I think kidneys. Yeuch. Went over to the Harp because I couldn’t pick up the internet over the road, but they told me the cable was broken, possibly something chewed through it. Had the longest game of pool ever with Alex, he whooped me, but I had warned him I was shit, then went to Tims where I met his girlfriend Bea, who has just come back from Bangkok.

It’s the half moon party tonight and I had no plans to go as I didn’t want to feel rough tomorrow. But when I got to Coco’s I met Emma and she said they’ll probably go. So then I start thinking maybe I will maybe I won’t. Ah fuck it, once in a lifetime and all that. So just going to have some food here at coco’s, go to tesco’s and get some shampoo as I haven’t washed my hair since i got here. I know, I know skankathon but it goes really nice and curly when it’s filthy. So then I’m Half mooning it, hopefully won’t get into any bother this time. Famous last words!!!!

Happy Christmas everyone, I hope you all have a lovely day tomorrow. Jane xxxx



Advertisement



24th December 2009

Merry Christmas for tomorrow
Hi Hun, Glad you Ok - Have a fab day tomorrow. xxx
26th December 2009

merry christmas
had a lovely day here , weather is deplorable , boxing day today so just chilling ,not that I can drive anywere , but everything good . Daddys fine he went out for a while this morning but then headed back home as it started to snow again. take care god bless . Mum xxxxx

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb