Ko Phangan, Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
June 13th 2009
Published: June 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Beach HutBeach HutBeach Hut

My humble abode.
I hop on a plane and 45 minutes later I find myself in a decidedly different climate (not literally of course... it feels even hotter now, if that's possible). Having escaped the long shadow of Bangkok I arrive in Surat Thani, during the mid-day Sun, which welcomes me with a wind that feels as though it has blown straight through Dante's eigth circle of Hell. After a longer than necessary bus transfer (which I assume was routed through a 100 km long school zone as the driver rarely broke the 30 km/h threshold) I board an equally slow ferry which, despite its best effort, eventually delivers me to the island paradise of Ko Phangan. Having almost two weeks with only my own company on the island I spend the first few days orientating myself. This orientation takes form in several 15 km hikes, through mountainous terrain, during the heat of the day. After my "orientation" I decide to spend the next several days "un-orientating" myself with the aid of a hammock. Feeling rested and confident in my new surroundings I engage in the event known as The Full Moon Party, accompanied by my new found Hawaiian friend named Waldo. Seriously. Highlights
@ the Port@ the Port@ the Port

A small fishing port on Ko Phangan.
of the night include swimming in a sea of people, a sand bucket not intended for holding sand, being robbed by a "lady-boy", and somehow inexplicably waking up back in my room the following morning, organs intact. An interesting evening to say the least. I can't wait to go again next month.

After the chaos of the Full Moon Party, my time and attention turn to more relaxing pursuits. My days are spent in the aforementioned hammock, playing guitar on the beach, and enjoying the town of Thong Sala. Becoming somewhat restless after several days of being a "beach slut", my Adonis-esque tan and I embrace adventure in the form of a scooter. These two-wheel-terrors are as frequent a site on the island as palm trees, geckos, and tourist's clad in scab suits from falling off said scooters. With my hair helmet firmly protecting my faculties, I set off to explore the island... this time in a decidedly easier/quicker fashion. After a few days with my scooter it becomes apparent to me that the $5 a day the scooter costs me is money well spent, as I am now able to venture to the remote corners of the island
View from the TopView from the TopView from the Top

Me enjoying the view from atop the hills.
in short time. On my journeys around Ko Phangan I am able to access remote beaches hiding veritable underwater Gardens of Eden, bursting with forests of coral and metropolises of marine life, hidden beneath the calm emerald waters. Trekking inland I am confronted with lush tropical forests engulfing sleepy fishing villages and winding mountain roads. As my days alone wind down, I am happy to have ventured out solo for the first leg of my trip. While at times daunting, the experience has led me to meet new and interesting people whom I otherwise might not have encountered. Having said that, I eagerly await the arrival of 185 lbs of trouble headed my way in the form of Ian Rattan. Next stop, Haad Rin (aka Full Moon Beach). Still on the island of Ko Phangan, but seemingly a world apart.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Welcome to the JungleWelcome to the Jungle
Welcome to the Jungle

Somewhere Axle Rose lurks.
Night MarketNight Market
Night Market

Food so cheap and delicious you can't afford not to eat it.
Hi-Ho Silver!Hi-Ho Silver!
Hi-Ho Silver!

My ever faithful scooter.
Another Beach, Another DayAnother Beach, Another Day
Another Beach, Another Day

Pretty typical scenery on Ko Phangan.


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb