PLanes, trains & automobiles...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
April 18th 2009
Published: April 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I did actually add another entry the other day but it has clearly got lost in cyber space!
So I made it to Auytthaya as planned just in time for Songkran ( Thai new year) celebrated over 3 days by chucking buckets of water and smearing each others faces with flour and water. I managed to avoid it the first day but hiding out in my guest house but the next day got completely soaked and floured several times when I went out on the bikes to try and see some temples. I got fed up have to stop and wring out my clothes so gave up on the sightseeing! But from what I did see Ayutthaya is an impressive place, it has many ancient temples and is the place where you find the head of a Buddha statute entwined in a tree trunk.
After much umm-ing and ah-ing about whether to stay in the north and go to Laos or head south and go to Malaysia I finally decided on the southern option as its a little cooler and there are beaches. So a full day and 1 tuk tuk, 1 (very late) train, 1 plane, 2 buses, 1 boat and a hired scooter later I arrived on Ko Phangnan. And it really is beautiful here, plenty of white sandy beaches and a lively night life. At the moment I'm in Haadrin in the south of the island and I plan to stay here till the 24th then I'm taking an overnight train to Malaysia, to a place called Butterworth. But for the time being I don't plan to do an awful lot apart from chill out and enjoy the scenery.


More later...

Lx

Advertisement



18th April 2009

go north
actually to the north east corner of kohphagnan to a beach call tong nai pan yai. On the road towards the northern beach (tong nai pang noi) there is a road laeding inshore to a bar called the fat bhudda, a little way up this road (just past the locals karaoke bar) you'll find Dr Hotdogs, (usually run by mrs hotdog) really top quality hotdogs, next door is a burger bar run by a thai chap who learnt how to make burgers in new york. This is the only place in thailand where I found western food that was any good and these were really good. You can sit outside on cushions and listen to the frongs

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb