Ko Phangan: Full Moon


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
July 31st 2007
Published: August 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

What a party!What a party!What a party!

They lit this up in flames that were dancing in the dark
I arrive the day before the Full Moon. My bungalow is sub-standard, but at least I meet a couple of cool guys from Seattle. We rent motorbikes, and drive all the way to Haad Rin, where the big party will be tomorrow night. I can't describe the thrill of driving these bikes on winding, treacherous mountain roads at night! Such a rush, and with palm trees whizzing by, it's paradise.

We hang out near the beach, and witness the most incredible view of the moon I have ever seen. It is reflecting on the water and illuminating the waves as they slowly come to shore. People are lighting up "lucky balloons" (a flame with a colored bag above it) and they rise off the beach and race toward the moon. Oh, if only I had my camera!

......................

The night of the party is OK. It's just your typical Frat party on the beach, but with good DJs and a LOT of people. I had fun, got my pictures, and left.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb