Ko Pha Nang


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
February 2nd 2007
Published: February 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Travelling in Thailand is not nice. It is easy for sure, but not nice. In Malaysia you get a bus from one place to another and that's it. In Thailand you get a minivan to one place, wait one hour, get a bus to another place, wait one hour, get a bus to another place, wait half an hour, get a ferry. You get the point, a lot of waiting. The travel from Ao Nang to Ko Pha Nang took 11 hours and I swear I could have done it in half that time driving myself.

Koh Pha Nang is famous for it's full moon parties. It is a place where a lot of young people goes. This was the first place we went to where I had been before when I visited Thailand in 2003. And boy had it changed. Where it used to be bamboo-bungalows there was now multistorey concrete-buildings. I could actually not find my way around because of all the new buildings everywhere.

And the crowd had also changed. When I went everynight there was a ravers on the beach. I didn't see more than a handful now. The place had been invaded by Israelis. I can't understand why people go to another part of the world to spend time with only their own people. It seems way stupid. Of course I thought the place had lost all the charm it once might have had. It was now overpriced and fake.

We got a bungalow a 15 minutes walk away from the beach. It was a decent place, even though the Norwegian that run the place thought it was a bit shabby. I guess it was compared to his newly built units but it was a nice place to us. And it had a balcony with a hammock. First hammock so far on our journeys. I did really enjoy it and spent a lot of time in it. We also had the breeze coming right at us all the time which made it fairly cool and no mosquitos.

Because of all the Israelis we found a place where you could get good falafels and cheap as well. Really sick of thaifood now we mainly eat western. Some good, some bad.

We met up with Amies friends Dan and Larry and went to the halfmoon party with them. I did go on a fullmoon party last time and expected a bit the same now. This party was in the jungle, so they said, but it was a built venue with a stage and no jungle. It was fanced off and you had to pay an entrance-fee of 300 baht. This included a free drink. Inside there was loud dancemusic and expensive alcohol. I can't say I really enjoyed it. It was just a soulless party to get money in my eyes. The crowd was young people experiencing this for the first time, thaigirls (I think they might be working girls) and a few older.

About 3 I wanted to go home and about 5 we did. We got back to our bungalow and watched the sunrise on our balcony before going to bed.

After changing our plans not to go to Ko Tao and no to Ko Chang because of our visa would run out pretty soon we decided that the next stop would be Bangkok.

So we left, again in Thaiway, minivan to ferry including a wait for it. Ferry to mainland, a 2 hour wait for the bus and then 11 hours over night to Bangkok. I couldn't really sleep on the bus, my knees hurt too much. I always get that on flights and long busjourneys. And 6 o clock we entered Bangkok.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb