Paradise!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
January 22nd 2007
Published: January 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ferry from Ko Samui to Ko PhanganFerry from Ko Samui to Ko PhanganFerry from Ko Samui to Ko Phangan

Getting to The Sanctuary was a bit long, I started at Buddha Pier on Ko Samui (5 mins taxi from the airport)..
OK, now I’m at the best part of my holiday! Actually it's good I can't publish any photos because none of them would show the great feeling it is to be here. The Sanctuary is not luxurious; it's one of those places that made me feel at home in 30 seconds. I have booked myself in for 7 nights, and I plan to do a 3 and 1/2 day fast (starting tomorrow), daily yoga classes and something different at the Spa each day (started today with a 45 min Deep Tissue Neck and Shoulders Massage)... This is paradise!

As I am booked for a fast, I have a room in the Wellness Centre which is right next to the Spa and a lovely calm place. Everyone is so chilled out here, no loud music, no drinking and no generally loud people, very relaxing. The Sanctuary has a lovely big restaurant area with tables to sit in chairs or on cushions and this is the heart of the resort. Everyone just seems to spend the day here reading, listening to their iPods, chatting or eating the delicious food they have here. The menu comprises about 15 pages of the most delicious,
Boat Taxi to Had Tien BeachBoat Taxi to Had Tien BeachBoat Taxi to Had Tien Beach

..and then I took a boat taxi to the beach where The Sanctuary is. It leaves when it's full, no schedule!
healthy (and not so healthy ;-) and fresh foods. Since I will be fasting half of my days here, I am eating my way through the salad list, which I have to do to “prepare” for the fast.

The Spa have their price list and treatment descriptions in what they call the Spa Menu and it is exactly that! Just reading the list makes you feel better already! I’ve found a Bali Body Scrub and Wrap, a Herbal Steam Room session and a Relaxing Aromatherapy Massage which are on my list.. Bali’s booked for tomorrow already! The prices are fab, about ¼ what we would pay in Munich..

They also have an email room which is cool because I was thinking about where to go here on the island but the downside is the computers don't understand my camera (had that before) and I can't download the pics. So folks, this will probably be my last Blog entry until I get back as I couldn’t find a decent place in Bangkok either. I will write a page about Angkor and The Sanctuary with photos when I get back for those I won’t be seeing first thing Tuesday ;-)
Had Tien BeachHad Tien BeachHad Tien Beach

The Had Tien beach was actually not a very nice one, they don't keep it very clean and the sea washes up a lot of debris. We walked over to the next beach on the boat pier side and that was beautiful!


I will be checking email every day or two (you can’t kick a habit that fast! And it’s fun keeping up with you all at home!), thanks so much for having traveled with me and Bye for now!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The Wellness Centre Price ListThe Wellness Centre Price List
The Wellness Centre Price List

The Sanctuary Wellness Centre had fabulous offerings at a really good price (for European standards!), 1-7-day detox/cleanses, liver cleansing and more.
The Sanctuary RestaurantThe Sanctuary Restaurant
The Sanctuary Restaurant

This place is cult, really fun to sit and people-watch or read and reading the menu was better than Dan Brown!


23rd January 2007

Hello Tina :)
You sound like you're digging your stay in Paradise :)) Here in France, it has started snowing, the whole place is slippery but it's fun too! Enjoy your massages, baths and fast :) Lots of love, Adam

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb