Merry Xmas!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
December 30th 2006
Published: December 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm currently on the deck of my beach hut surrounded by the remains of xmas day.

Ness and Pete met me in Bangkok and from there we travelled to Ko Pha Nang. After an eventful train journey (partying in the halls and being told that if we don't shut up they'll arrest us), a terrifying boat trip and a manic ride in the back of a pickup we arrived safely at our beach. Once there we grabbed dinner because we were all starving. At this point the three of us were doubting whether coming here for xmas was the best move. The weather looked like it could turn into a monsoon and the beach was deserted. Thank god we stayed though. The weather on xmas day was perfect!

Pete and I woke up before sunrise on xmas day to set off on a 20km round trip, on our scooters, to fetch fish for xmas dinner. This really wasn't the best idea when our scooters were designed for city roads and the roads we were about to use them weren't really roads at all, but river paths cut into the sand. Regardless of that and ignoring the warning a motor cross guy gave us, we set off. Needless to say within 15mins I'd crashed. My scooter went flying in one direction and me, in my shorts, went skidding down the gravel road. When I got up all I cared about was the condition of the bike because the fines for damaging it were huge. Thankfully it didn't look too bad. It definitely came off better than me. I'm currently the proud owner of a soon-to-be gangreneous leg. It looks like I've lost a fight against a cheese grater. The deeper cuts ooze this sap-like fluid, which is proving quite the hit among flies! It's called a Ko Pha Nang tattoo because it's so common among stupid tourists.

Anyway I went back a broken man and Pete continued. In the end he returned victorious with 1kg of the world's biggest prawns, a whole barracuda, some white snapper and a bbq. Our xmas feast consisted of the above and loads of coconuts (that were fresh from the tree) filled with rum and lime. It was brilliant. We cooked and chilled on our decking all day watching and listening to the sea..........well not quite we did that and then ended up partying in the Jungle Bar until 5am. We're all feeling it now, but it was more than worth it! I'm still suffering in my hammock and Ness and Pete have passed out in the sun (that should help their hangovers no end!).

Just in case that all sounds too perfect, shortly after sunset, while we were chargrilling our prawns, a swam of giant mosquitoes feasted on us. I now have 24 bites and they all ITCH like crazy! So with my bites and shredded legs I look pretty dam hot in my shorts! To finish on a positive note, I didn't get fined for the damage to my bike. All credit goes to Ness here because by bandaging up all my cuts she allowed me to wear trousers and socks, so apart from a pretty obvious hobble I looked fine, phew.

Hehe the tide's coming in. I think I'll sit here watching it until a nice big wave wakes Ness and Pete up......it took an our. One our well spent.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Cool ViewCool View
Cool View

Pete wearing my glasses because he's already lost 3 pairs!
ScooterScooter
Scooter

I took this picture as evidence so if he tried to rip me off at the end for damage I didn't cause I could use it.....gotta love the irony!
Pete getting to know the localsPete getting to know the locals
Pete getting to know the locals

Thankfully I don't know what this one's called. You'd have to look it up in the Karma Sutra
Queen of DogsQueen of Dogs
Queen of Dogs

She'll be the first one with flees and I'll be the first to complain!
Banana's in HammocksBanana's in Hammocks
Banana's in Hammocks

I'm not taking the piss here, we'd just cooked banana's with Mars bars on the bbq. It's the best hangover cure!


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb