From West to East in 2 Days!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Khao Sok NP
February 14th 2006
Published: February 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I rode from the beautiful beaches on the West coast through the Karst landscape home to Koh Sok National Park to Surat Thani in the East.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Journey to the East.Journey to the East.
Journey to the East.

The scenery may have been breathtaking but I could feel it in my thighs. 6km/hr was the norm!
Roadside ShrinesRoadside Shrines
Roadside Shrines

Almost every house in Thailand has a Shrine outside it to house the spirits. It's like a little dollshouse, some even have figurines in them. Roadside shrines are placed where people have been killed ..... guess it's a bit like the roadside crosses in Ireland!
Koh Sok National ParkKoh Sok National Park
Koh Sok National Park

One of the rivers running through Koh Sok National Park.
Morning views to the East.Morning views to the East.
Morning views to the East.

After staying the night in the park where I met a drunk Irish man (strangly enough), I continued my journey to the east coast.
Outside Theatre in Surat ThaniOutside Theatre in Surat Thani
Outside Theatre in Surat Thani

After finally getting to the coast, I booked a ticket on an overnight ferry to Ko Tao. I enjoyed the strange openair theatre on the pier where the all male cast are made-up beyond recognition.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb