Khao Sok National Park + Krabi


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Khao Sok NP
February 21st 2009
Published: March 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sadly I got my camera stolen in Kuala Lumpa, so I don't have very many pictures for you, I have kind of borrowed these ones from facebook... I may some more in a few weeks, maybe. This partly explains the long delay in writing the final section of my blog.

On Monday 16th Feb I took my third night train in 8 days, the novelty was wearing a bit thin...

The group got off at Surat Thani and took a two hour van drive to Khao Sok National Park.

We stayed in an awesome tropical jungle hotel, - great views, cool rooms, yummy food and smoothies...

On the full day there I got up at the crack of dawn to go trekking through the park with a Canadian couple in my group. We wanted to miss the hottest part of the day.

We had a great time, heard lots of gibbons, saw giant ants and lots and lots of jungle trees. Did a good few k and spent the rest of the day doing not very much... Oh, I had a back and neck massage and my back went click click click.

On the Thursday we headed off to Krabi/Ao Nang beach. The motto of our guest house was "stay me, stay home," I loved the sentiment, if not the English or the massive bloomin cockcroach in my room...

The town/village where we were staying was crazy touristy, in fact there wasn't much other than tourists so I made sure I was busy to keep away!

The second day we were there I took a Phi Phi Island tour, saw Monkey Island, Bamboo Island, did lots of cool snorkeling, had some rank lunch, but most importantly we went to Maya Bay, which was the beach used in the filming of "The Beach". There were quite a lot of people there understandably, but I did manage to get some cool pictures of the bay, but as you know these have sadly been lost :-(

It was indeed very beautiful and I'd made sure I watched the film shortly before I came away, so I remembered what it looked like. The book by Alex Garland is excellent by the way, read it, it's so good and so much better than the film...

The following day I went on a Thai cookery course again, I loved the first one so much! I made more dishes this time, including mango sticky rice - YUM. I was the only person doing it so I had a lot of attention. Ooo, I made banana spring rolls too, which were amazing!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

"The Beach""The Beach"
"The Beach"

AKA Maya Bay


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb